NZC announces Neil Wagner replaces injured Matt Henry for BAN test Series

Neil Wagner
Neil Wagner (image: NZC)

New Zealand Cricket has named the veteran left-arm pacer Neil Wagner for the injured Matt Henry in the Test Series against Bangladesh.

Neil Wagner replaces injured Matt Henry 

New Zealand was knocked out of the World Cup 2023 after their defeat against India in the semifinals. The Blackcaps are scheduled to play a Test series against Bangladesh starting on November 28.

On this occasion, NZC has announced that Wagner will be replacing Matt Henry due to the injury he sustained during the World Cup tournament.

Matt Henry sustained a right hamstring injury in the World Cup campaign and missed the semifinal match against India where they lost the match with 70 runs.

Following his scan results, Matt Henry has revealed that he will not be fit in time for the Bangladesh Test series.

Notably, the veteran pacer Neil Wagner, who has been a high-class performer for New Zealand made his comeback to the Plunket shield for Northern Districts after overcoming a back injury.

 Talking about the inclusion of Neil Wagner to the Black Caps squad, National Selector Sam Wells said that the return of the Pacer is great for them as he brings a lot of experience with him.

“It’ll be great to have Neil’s skill and experience on the tour of Bangladesh,” Sam Wells, New Zealand’s selector, said. “His record speaks for itself, and we all know what a great competitor he is. He’s played plenty of cricket in the sub-continent, and I know he’s really excited by the challenge ahead.”

The Test matches between Bangladesh and New Zealand are set to be played from November 28- December 02 and from December 06 to December 10. The Black Caps will depart for Bangladesh on Tuesday, November 21.

New Zealand squad for Bangladesh Test series

Tim Southee (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young.