NZC announces New Zealand U-19 World Cup squad

New Zealand U-19 World Cup Squad
New Zealand U-19 cricket team

With announcing their U-19 World Cup squad, New Zealand Cricket have included the grandson of one of their former Test captain for next month’s ICC U19 World Cup 2024 in South Africa.

New Zealand U-19 2024 World Cup squad

New Zealand cricket is preparing for the under-19 showcase in South Africa following their successful campaign in the East Asia-Pacific qualifier in Darwin. The squad is further boosted by a trio who were connected to New Zealand’s former or current stars.

Zac Cumming, Matt Rowe, and Tom Jones are included in the squad who were related to the New Zealand stars. Cumming is the son of former opening batter Craig Cumming, Pacer Matt is the cousin of Hannah Rowe, and Tom Jones is the grandson of ex-Test skipper Jeremy Coney.

Coney has played 140 international matches for New Zealand and Jones will be following his grandfather’s footsteps.

Tom Jones is a 17-year-old player who still can qualify for the U-19 World Cup in 2026. The Kiwis were placed in the D group alongside Afghanistan, Nepal, and Pakistan.

Oscar Jackson was named as the captain and the squad will be guided by coach Jonny Bassett-Graham. After announcing the squad coach Bassett-Graham said, “Firstly, I’d like to congratulate the players selected for what will be the first ICC Cricket World Cup for the entire squad.”

“It’s a hugely exciting time for them and their families and I know a lot of hard work and sacrifice has got them to where they are today.

“This tournament will be an awesome opportunity for our players to test themselves against the best in the world in their age group, and we hope it will be a great experience.

“You only have to look at the impressive list of players who have represented New Zealand at this tournament to understand its importance – from senior Black Caps like Kane Williamson and Tim Southee through to rising stars like Rachin Ravindra and Adi Ashok.”

New Zealand’s first match in the tournament will be against Nepal at Buffalo Park in East London on January 21.

New Zealand squad

Oscar Jackson (c), Mason Clarke, Sam Clode, Zac Cumming, Rahman Hekmat, Tom Jones, James Nelson, Snehith Reddy, Matt Rowe, Ewald Schreuder, Lachlan Stackpole, Oliver Tewatiya, Alex Thompson, Ryan Tsourgas, Luke Watson.

Reserve players: Ben Breitmeyer, Nick Brown, Henry Christie, Robbie Foulkes, Josh Oliver, Amogh Paranjpe.