Uncapped Nasum Ahmed Named In Bangladesh Squad For 2nd Test Against India

Nasum Ahmed
Nasum Ahmed(Image: BCB)

Bangladesh Squad For 2nd Test Against India: Uncapped left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed has been added to the Bangladesh Test squad as a replacement player for injured Ebadot Hossain for the second Test against India in Dhaka on December 22.

Nasum Added In Bangladesh Squad For 2nd Test Against India

During the first Test of the series,  Ebadot Hossain sustained an injury in his back. In the first Test match, Hossain bowled 21 overs and bagged one wicket at an economy of 3.30 while he didn’t bowl in the 2nd inning.

“Ebadot received an injury on his back in the first Test. He will not be fit for the second Test. That’s why we took Nasum in his place though we have yet to decide whether we would play an extra spinner in Dhaka,” said selector Habibul Bashar.

Ebadot Hossain
Ebadot Hossain(Player with ball in hand) Image: BCB

India leads the 2-match Test series after beating the host by 188 runs in the first Test at Chattogram. India scored 404 runs in the first test while Bangladesh struggled to score runs as Kuldeep Yadav and Siraj rattled Bangladesh’s players. Bangladesh lost all 10 wickets after scoring 150 runs.

With Shubman Gill and Pujara’s century, India made a massive lead in the 2nd inning. As of the first inning, Bangladesh players struggled to build a partnership and ended up the inning after scoring 324 runs.

With the victory, India moved to 2nd position in the ICC WTC 2021-23 Points Table. As we have discussed earlier, every match will be crucial for India to get qualified for the ICC WTC Final match.

Opening batsman Tamim Iqbal, who missed the ODI series and first Test due to a groin injury, failed to make it to the squad for the second Test. Batsman Anamul Haque and pace bowler Shoriful Islam were also left out.

On the other hand, India will miss the service of Rohit Sharma in the 2nd Test also as he has not fully recovered from the hand injury sustained in the 2nd ODI against Bangladesh.

Bangladesh Squad For 2nd Test

Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Liton Das, Nurul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Mahmudul Hasan, Rejaur Rahman Raja