HomeCricketNewsMustafizur, Shakib named in Bangladesh squad for final two T20Is vs Zimbabwe

Mustafizur, Shakib named in Bangladesh squad for final two T20Is vs Zimbabwe

Mustafizur Rahman and Shakib Al Hasan who missed the first three T20Is of the Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh 2024 have been included in the squad for the final two T20Is.

During the series, a total of 5 T20Is has been scheduled to be played between May 3 and 12 across two different venues in Bangladesh.

While announcing the squad for the first three T20Is, BCB excluded Mustafizur and Shakib from the squad owing to various reasons.

Owing to Mustafizur’s hectic schedule, BCB decided not to include him for the first three T20Is and allowed him to recover, both mentally and physically.

BCB excluded Mustafizur Rahman from the squad who returned from IPL following his last game against Punjab Kings on May 1. Earlier, the Bangladesh Cricket Board(BCB) extended Mustafizur Rahman’s NOC till May 1 to play for Chennai Super Kings(CSK) in IPL 2024.

Shakib who recently recovered from an eye problem also opted out of the first three T20I as the allrounder wanted to play in Dhaka Premier League to prepare for international cricket.

Soumya Sarkar who has recovered from the knee injury he sustained during the last game of the three-match ODIs against Sri Lanka at home has also returned to the squad.

Bangladesh squad for Last T20 T20Is: 

Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain), Litton Kumar Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Shakib Al Hasan, Towhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali Anik, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Soumya Sarkar, Tanvir Islam, Mohammad Saifuddin

Bangladesh decided to give a break to Shoriful Islam while Afif Hossain and Parvez Hossain failed to make the cut.

“We have given rest to Shoriful. Both team management and Shoriful felt he needed to spend time with his family. We want him to come back after recharging himself as he’s been playing cricket in one stretch for a long time,” selector Abdur Razzak said.

Bangladesh have already sealed the series with a victory in the first three matches. The 4th T20I of the series will be played on May 10 in Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka while the final T20I will played on May 12 in the same venue.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read