MLC 2023 Winner: MI New York Beats Seattle Orcas in Final Game

MLC 2023 Winner
MI New York won MLC 2023 trophy by beating Seattle Orcas in Final Game(Image: Twitter)

MLC 2023 Winner: Major League Cricket which ran over a period of more than 2 weeks came to an end in the favour of MI New York.

MI New York bags the title “MLC 2023 Winner”

Mumbai Indians’ franchise “MI New York” won the inaugural edition of the MLC by beating Seattle Orcas by 7 wickets. Though MI New York struggled to maintain a consistent during the tournament’s beginning stage make an aggressive comeback towards the end of the tournament.

In the first 5 games which is the league stage, MI New York managed to win only 2 games and entered the playoff with the advantage of the positive NRR. On the other hand, their opponent in the final game – Seattle Orcas are the most successive team of the season where they won 4 out of 5 league games.

Seattle Orcas beats Texas Super Kings in Qualifier 1 and made a direct entry for the grand final while MI New York beats Washington Freedom in Eliminator and beats Texas Super Kings in the Challenger to enter the final game.

Nicholas Pooran who captained MI New York in the MLC 2023 final game scored an unbelievable 137 runs in just 55 deliveries and led the team towards a glorious victory.

Winning the toss, MI New York choose to bowl first where Seattle Orcas scored 183 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs. Though Seattle Orcas’ players struggled to score against the MI New York’s aggressive bowling attack, de Kock managed to score 87 runs from 52 deliveries and led the team towards a safer side.

Boult and Rashid Khan bagged 3 wickets each on behalf of MI New York and restricted the opponents from scoring further. On the other hand, MI New York’s opening batters Steven Taylor and Shayan Jahangir fall cheaply and stun everyone.

But the skipper took the things in hand and played a mad inning where the aggressive left-hander smashed 10 boundaries and whopping 13 sixes which is the most by a player in an inning in ML 2023.

With a strike rate of 249.09, Pooran scored 137 runs from just 55 deliveries and led the team to win the game with 4 overs left. With this unbelievable knock, Nicholas Pooran scripted various records in MLC 2023 tournament.

Quick view of players’ stats in the MLC 2023 Tournament:

  • Most runs: Nicholas Pooran (MI New York) – 388
  • Most wickets: Trent Boult (MI New York) – 22
  • Highest individual score: Nicholas Pooran (137*) vs Seattle Orcas (final)
  • Best spell of the season: Saurabh Netravalkar (6/9) vs San Francisco Unicorns