Mitch Marsh Predicts 2023 World Cup Finalists; India, England not in the list

Mitchell Marsh
Mitchell Marsh(Image: CA)

Ahead of the much awaited start of the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023, Australian allrounder Mitch Marsh predicts 2023 World Cup finalists and surprisingly not include the hosts India.

The 13th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be hosted by India between October 5 to November 19. It will be the first time the competition is held entirely in India; three previous editions were partially hosted there – 1987, 1996, and 2011.

Mitch Marsh Predicts 2023 World Cup Finalists

As of the previous edition, the 2023 edition will be played between ten teams. Each participating team will play the other nine teams once in the group stage where a total of 45 group matches will be played.

The top 4 teams of the ICC ODI World Cup points table will enter the knockout stage to play semifinal 1 and semifinal 2.

As per World Cup 2023 schedule, the most successful team of the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup Australia will play their first game of the tournament on October 8 against India at Chidambaram, Chennai.

The Australian Men’s cricket team have won a total of 5 ODI World Cup trophies since 1975. Australian Men’s cricket team emerged as the ODI World Cup winners in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015.

In a recent YouTube podcast, Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh made a bold prediction regarding the possible finalists of the 2023 ICC World Cup.

Co-hosted by Adam Gilchrist and Michael Vaughan, the podcast featured a playful moment when Vaughan, not including Australia among the options, asked Marsh about his prediction for the finalists of the mega event in India.

In response, Marsh displayed unwavering confidence in his team, as he firmly forecasted that Australia would indeed reach the World Cup final, where they would face off against Pakistan.

Michael Vaughan: Who is going to win it? India, Pakistan or England?

Mitch Marsh: I honestly think that it will be Australia v Pakistan in the final.

Australia World Cup squad

Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

World Cup 2023 Teams

As host, team India will automatically qualify for World Cup 2023. Along with India, six other teams have qualified for the World Cup 2023. Following are the details of the World Cup 2023 Teams.

  • South Africa
  • India(H)
  • England
  • Bangladesh
  • Australia
  • Pakistan
  • New Zealand
  • Afghanistan
  • Netherlands
  • Sri Lanka

World Cup 2023 Format

  • Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy.
  • The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.
  • All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage.
  • A victory earns the winning side two points in every match, while a no-result will mean the sides share a point each.
  • The top four teams at the end of the round-robin stage will qualify for the semi-finals.
  • The winners of the two successive semi-finals will contest in the final, where the champion will be crowned.

Men’s ICC Cricket World Cup Winners and Runners

The next Cricket World Cup is scheduled to be held in 2023 in India.

The table given below gives the list of 50 overs ICC Men’s World Cup Winners along with the runner-ups and Hosts for each year the event was organized:

Year Winner Runner Up Host Final Venue
2019 England New Zealand England Lord’s, London
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground
2011 India Sri Lanka India Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
2007 Australia Sri Lanka Australia Kensington Oval, Bridgetown
2003 Australia India Australia Wanderers, Johannesburg
1999 Australia Pakistan England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1996 Sri Lanka Australia India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
1992 Pakistan England Australia & New Zealand Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
1987 Australia England India & Pakistan Eden Gardens, Kolkata
1983 India West Indies England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1979 West Indies England England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1975 West Indies Australia England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

The team’s captain plays a crucial role in winning a cricket match; winning an ICC trophy requires a huge role from the team’s captain.

Find the detailed list of cricket World cup winning captains list since 1975 below:

Year Winner Captain
2019 England Eoin Morgan
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2011 India MS Dhoni
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1987 Australia Allan Border
1983 India Kapil Dev
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd


More interesting topics on ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: