Mair, Halliday named in New Zealand Women’s Squad for England series

New Zealand Women Cricket Team

New Zealand has announced its 15-member women’s squad for the upcoming home tour against England.

New Zealand Women’s Squad for England series

With only 14 days available before the England Women’s tour of New Zealand 2024, New Zealand has named their squad for the white ball series where experienced due Rosemary Mair and Brooke Halliday have been included.

Mair will join the squad for the first time after being part of the New Zealand squad that played against Sri Lanka last year. Meanwhile, Halliday who missed the ODI and T20I series against Pakistan due to foot injury, returns to the squad.

On the other hand, the ECB announced the England women’s squad for the T20I series against New Zealand on February 03. After the announcement of the squad, the head coach Ben Sawyer spoke about the players.

“Rosemary’s had a great domestic season,” said Sawyer. Mair has been impressive during the Super Smash tournament where she picked 14 wickets in 10 matches.

“She’s been an integral part of the Central Hinds side this summer and has stepped up with her leadership and extra pace, which has been pleasing.”

“We identified key areas of her game to work on after the tour of Sri Lanka and we’ve been impressed with the way Rosemary has gone away and worked hard on implementing these into her game.

“The results speak for themselves and Rosemary’s performance in the Super Smash Grand Final showed us that she’s ready for another opportunity.”

“We’re looking forward to having Brooke back in the group after a period out of the team with a foot injury. She’s an important member of our middle order and, like Rosemary, has shown some strong performances in the domestic season since returning for the Hearts,” added Sawyer.
Leigh Kasperek has been picked up in the squad after picking 17 wickets in the Super Smash tournament and 18 in the One-day tournament. She will be playing in the last two T20Is of the series.
However, Eden Carson who has been included in the squad will be playing in the first three T20Is. Georgia Plimmer has also been named in the squad.
“Leigh has been really impressive with her performances and leadership for the Wellington Blaze this summer.
“She’s been consistent across both the T20 and 50-over campaigns for Wellington and she continues to be part of our planning for the ICC T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.
“She’ll bring a wealth of experience to the group for the T20 internationals and will add strong leadership in the New Zealand A group,” said Sawyer.
Sophie Devine, Amelia Kerr, and Lea Tahuhu have been playing in the WPL 2024 league and will now be playing in the tour. Hence, New Zealand will be naming three stand-by players before the start of the England series as cover.
The Series gets started with a five-match T20I series which is set to begin on March 19 two days after the WPL 2024 finals. The first match will kickstart at 05:30 am IST at University Oval.

New Zealand squad for England series

Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Bernadine Bezuidenhout (wk), Eden Carson (T20Is 1, 2 & 3 only), Izzy Gaze (wk), Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Fran Jonas, Leigh Kasperek (T20Is 4 & 5 only), Melie Kerr, Jess Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Georgia Plimmer (ODIs only), Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu.