HomeCricketNewsLitton Das Named As Bangladesh Captain For Afghanistan Test Series

Litton Das Named As Bangladesh Captain For Afghanistan Test Series

Bangladesh Captain For Afghanistan Test Series: Bangladesh Cricket team have named Litton Das as the Test team captain for the Afghanistan one-off Test game as Shakib Al Hasan remains sidelined.

Bangladesh Captain For Afghanistan Test Series

Bangladesh Captain For Afghanistan Test Series: Afghanistan cricket team is scheduled to play one-off test, 3 ODIs and 2 T20Is between June 14 to July 16. The Test match will be played at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka while ODI games will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram.

The T20I games will be played at Sylhet District Stadium, Sylhet. The Afghanistan Test side will arrive on 10 June to play the match which starts on 14 June at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur according to a report.

Litton Das will captain Bangladesh for the first time in a Test in the one-off clash with Afghanistan in Mirpur, starting on June 14. The keeper-batter will take the reins from Shakib Al Hasan after the all-rounder sustained a finger injury in an ODI against Ireland that is expected to sideline him for at least six weeks.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief selector Minhajul Abedin backed Litton to impress with this opportunity after a team announcement in Dhaka.

“I think he (Litton) has got all the credentials to lead the Test squad and it’s a big honour for him,” Minhajul Abedin said. “It’s an opportunity for us to see him as a Test leader and we believe he will lead from the front.”

The 15-member squad also includes uncapped Musfik Hasan and Shahadat Hossain. Musfik, a right-arm pacer, impressed in the recent National Cricket League where he took 25 wickets at an average of 15.92. Shahadat, who was part of Bangladesh’s U-19 World Cup-winning squad in 2020, was brilliant in the recent two unofficial Tests against West Indies A.

The last time these two teams met in a Test match, Afghanistan won by 224 runs at Chattogram in 2019. After a break due to the Eid al-Adha festival, Afghanistan will be back in Bangladesh to play three ODIs and two T20Is in July.

Bangladesh Test squad

Litton Das (c), Tamim Iqbal, Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Shahadat Hossain, Musfik Hasan.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read