HomeCricketNewsLegends League Cricket 2023 Starting Date And Hosting Nation Announced

Legends League Cricket 2023 Starting Date And Hosting Nation Announced

The third season of the Legends League Cricket is scheduled to play between February 27, 2023 to March 8, 2023 in Qatar and Oman. It is worth mentioning that Qatar is now hosting the FIFA world Cup 2022.

Legends League Cricket 2023 Starting Date

The T-20 league will be played between recently retired players and many former international players. The first edition of Legends League Cricket was held at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground, Muscat in January 2022, featuring three teams – India Maharajas, Asia Lions, and World Giants.

The second edition was held in India in September 2022 and featured private-franchise-owned teams across six major cities with 85 legends and was played in India. The second edition of the league had been dedicated to India’s 75th Independence celebrations, named Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav celebrations.

The third and upcoming season is a repeat of the first season which had former cricketers from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, and England, among other cricket nations divided into 3 teams(India Maharajas, Asia Lions, and World Giants) representing India, Asia, and the Rest of the World.

Harbhajan Singh said “I loved to be in the Cricket field with Manipal Tigers playing LLC-2 and it would be great to go back into the field with the upcoming LLC Masters”. Harbhajan successfully led India Maharajas against the World Giants team in the exhibition game played at Kolkata as part of season 2 commemorating 75 years of Indian Independence.

Irfan Pathan said, “Excited to announce that I’ll be back in action again playing Legends League Cricket in February. And this time playing for Team India so I am really looking forward to it.”

Shane Watson said, “It was fun in September/October playing for Bhilwara Kings, and now I am getting ready for the LLC Masters to play for the World team.”

Raman Raheja, Co-Founder & CEO, Legends League Cricket said, “After a super successful season of Legends League Cricket-season 2, we are pleased to announce that we are coming back as LLC Masters. We had invitation from Qatar and Oman so we shall be splitting the season in 2 cities of Doha and Muscat.”

“And about 60 top players, essentially Legends of Cricket, would be playing in the upcoming season but this time representing their countries unlike the previous Franchise season. Players like Gambhir, Gayle, Harbhajan, Watson, Irfan & Yusuf Pathan amongst others from India, Australia, England, Pakistan, SA, Sri Lanka, etc are going to be playing in the LLC Masters,” he added.

Legends League Cricket Draft Rules 

  • 77 Players to be picked from 5 categories: Batters, Fast Bowlers, Spinners, All-rounders, and Wicket Keepers
  • Maximum 20 rounds of calling with one call from each team
  • Each team will have 120 seconds to make a call in every round
  • 18 to 25 players with a minimum of 6 Indian players to form a team
  • The lucky draw decides the order of calls after every round
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read