ZIM vs IND 2022: KL Rahul Cleared to Play Zimbabwe Series

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

Indian opening batter KL Rahul who missed England’s limited-over series has been returned to the India tour of Zimbabwe and is set to lead the side in 3 match ODI series.

KL Rahul Cleared to Play Zimbabwe Series

KL Rahul has not played any international cricket since February this year. KL Rahul missed out on all international series owing to injury and health strains.

Right after leading one of the 2 new IPL teams – Lucknow Super Giants in the IPL 2022 season, KL Rahul was scheduled to lead team India in the home T20Is against South Africa but missed out owing to a groin injury.

KL Rahul was also sidelined in the England and Ireland series after the injury leads to surgery. His return to the West Indies tour was canceled after he tested positive for COVID-19 before flying to the West Indies.

Ahead of the Asia Cup 2022, KL Rahul along with Virat Kohli was included in the India Squad.

“The BCCI Medical Team has assessed KL Rahul and cleared him to play in the upcoming three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy,” a BCCI statement read.

Prior to the Asia Cup 2022, KL Rahul was named in the India squad for the Zimbabwe series team scheduled to play in the Harare Sports Club, with the series kicking off on August 18.

“I wanted to clarify a couple of things about my health and fitness. My surgery in June was successful and I had begun my training with hope of returning to national duty for the tour of West Indies. Unfortunately, as I was returning to full fitness, I tested positive for Covid 19,” Rahul had tweeted after not being included in the original squad for the Zimbabwe tour.

“This naturally pushes things back by a couple of weeks but I aim to recover as quickly as possible and be available for selection as quickly as I can,” he further wrote.

“To represent the country is highest honour and I cannot wait to get out there back in blue.”

India will tour Zimbabwe for the first time in six years. The last time India were in Zimbabwe was when the team, led by MS Dhoni, played three ODIs and as many T20Is in June-July 2016.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs

KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Subhuman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.