HomeCricketNewsJay Shah Reappointed as ACC President for Third Time

Jay Shah Reappointed as ACC President for Third Time

The Board of Control for Cricket in India’s secretary Jay Shah was reappointed as the ACC president for the third time.

Jay Shah Reappointed as ACC President

Jay Shah who was the chairman of the Asian Cricket Council two times, has been unanimously voted to continue as president during the ACC Annual General Meetin on January 31.

Jay Shah was appointed as the president of the Asian Cricket Council for the first time during the year 2021 when he replaced Bangladesh’s Nazmul Hassan in January 2021. Jay Shah was the youngest Administrator to take over the ACC Chief role.

He will be serving as the ACC chief for another two years. He has been the chief during the Covid-19 Pandemic which had a great impact on world cricket.

He was in charge when the Asia Cup 2022 was held in UAE after it was moved out of Sri Lanka due to a financial crisis.

He was the person behind the adoption of a hybrid model for the men’s Asia Cup 2023 which was played in the 50-over format and was co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Jay Shah said, “I am grateful to the ACC Board for their continued trust. We must remain committed to ensuring the all-round development of the sport, with a special focus on regions where it is still in its infancy. The ACC is committed to nurturing cricket across Asia,” after his re-election.

The Asian Cricket Council has announced a two-year fixture list which includes tournaments for men, women, and age-group teams.

The council has announced the Women’s T20 Asia Cup which will be held in September 2024. The next edition of the Men’s Asia Cup is expected to be played in T20 format.

The SLC Chief Shammi Silva said, “Jay has played a pivotal role in steering the ACC towards significant progress in promoting and developing cricket across the Asian region.”

“Under Mr. Shah’s guidance, the ACC has been instrumental in unearthing and promoting new talent in cricketing powerhouses like Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka,” Shammi Silva concluded.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read