HomeCricketNewsJay Shah Predicts T20 World Cup 2024 Semi-finalists; No Pakistan in the...

Jay Shah Predicts T20 World Cup 2024 Semi-finalists; No Pakistan in the Final Four

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah has predicted the possible semifinalists for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 set to play in West Indies and the USA.

The 9th edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be played between June 1 and June 29, 2024, and will be hosted by the West Indies and the United States. It will be the first ICC World Cup tournament to feature matches in the United States.

A total of 55 matches will be played between 20 teams during the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. Though the tournament features a whopping 20 teams, only four teams will qualify for the semifinals which in turn will decide the winner.

Ahead of the tournament start many cricket experts started to predict their possible four teams to play the semifinals of the grand event. Now, BCCI secretary Jay Shah revealed his favourite teams to qualify for the T20 World Cup 2024 semifinals.

According to him, India, Australia, New Zealand, and the West Indies, the co-hosts, have strong T20 squads and are expected to advance to the semi-finals

“India, Australia, New Zealand and the hosts, West Indies, because they are good in T20,” Shah was quoted as saying by the TOI.

Surprisingly, Shah ignored Pakistan and England who made an extraordinary show in the last edition of the T20 World Cup. Moreover in the last edition of the World Cup which was played in Australia, Pakistan and England faced each other in the final where England emerged as the winner.

In addition to the two hosts, the top 8 teams from the previous tournament automatically qualified, as did the next 2 teams in the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings.

The remaining 8 teams were decided via a regional qualification process. This is the first time that Canada, Uganda, and the United States have qualified for the T20 World Cup.

Click the team name to check their complete World Cup 2024 squad details.

Group A Group B Group C Group D
India England New Zealand South Africa
Pakistan Australia West Indies Sri Lanka
Ireland Namibia Afghanistan Bangladesh
Canada Scotland Uganda Netherlands
USA Oman Papua New Guinea Nepal
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read