Irfan Pathan Warns Virat Kohli Ahead of The Australia Test Series

Irfan Pathan
Irfan Pathan

Ahead of the much-awaited Border Gavaskar trophy, former India cricketer Irfan Pathan warns Virat Kohli to watch out for the Australian spinners.

Irfan Pathan warns Virat Kohli

Though Virat Kohli announced his comeback in limited over format by smashing runs after runs, fans still wait for his Test century. Kohli has so far played in 20 Tests against Australia scoring 1682 runs at an average of 48.05. He has scored seven tons against the Aussies.

India vs Australia test series will begin on February 9 in Nagpur. Kohli is expected to hit at least a century in the 4-match Test series. Star Sports and Disney+Hotstar will live stream the series in India. Check: Australia Tour of India 2023 Live Streaming Details For All Your Locations

Speaking exclusively on Star Sports, Pathan spoke on how Kohli will be approaching the Border-Gavaskar Test series and what areas he will be looking to improve on.

“So, the one thing he will be keeping in his mind is how he’s going to be countering the spin of Lyon as well as Agar. Because he has been struggling against spin specially and I think one thing he can do personally as well is to try and be a little more aggressive, because I think the strike rate against spin has come down as well,” Pathan said.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli

“I know we are talking about Test cricket here, but sometimes he must be slightly more aggressive against spin, it might make you better in that encounter when you’re actually facing guys like Nathan Lyon who is outstanding with his spin, extra bounce and he gets that ball moving away from the right-hander as well. So, I think that’s one thing he should keep in mind.”

India’s Test squad for the first two Tests against Australia

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.