HomeCricketNewsIPL 2024 Qualifier 1: What Will Happen if Rain Washed Out KKR...

IPL 2024 Qualifier 1: What Will Happen if Rain Washed Out KKR vs SRH Clash

IPL 2024 Qualifier 1 will be played between Kolkata Knight Riders and Sunrisers Hyderabad on May 21 in Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad. The winner of this game will get a direct ticket for the IPL 2024 final while the loser will get a chance in Qualifier 2 to make things right.

Though the upcoming week is set to create various interesting moments in IPL history, nature poses a great threat to the joy in the form of rain. Notably, 3 of the last 8 IPL 2024 matches were washed out due to the rain intervention.

Though the fans missed some of the the league matches action, they will enjoy a full action-packed playoff week as BCCI scheduled reserve day for the playoff round.

What happens if it rains in playoff matches?

According to Rule 13.7.3 in the IPL 2024 Match Playing Conditions, an extra 120 minutes or two hours are available to finish a match because of rain delay. The rule was in place even for league-stage matches. But, in playoffs, the Reserve Day option is available.

“For the play-off matches, in addition to the extra time referred to above, there may be reserve days (on which an incomplete play-off match shall be completed).”

Unlike previous editions of the IPL, there’s a Reserve Day in place for all playoff matches this season, including the final which will be held on May 26 at Chepauk.

It also has to be noted that on the reserve day, the match will be played from the start.

Rain Possibilities at the Narendra Modi Stadium Today

According to AccuWeather predictions, there is no chance of rain during the Qualifier 1 clash. However, dew might play a role during the second innings due to humidity.

On a good batting pitch, it’s expected to only be raining sixes and boundaries at the Narendra Modi Stadium. The temperature is expected to be around 37-31 degree Celsius.

IPL 2024 Qualifier 1 KKR vs SRH Probable 11

Kolkata Knight Riders

Rahamanullah Gurbaz (wk), Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi/Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer (c), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy

Impact substitute: Vaibhav Arora

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Rahul Tripathi, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Sanvir Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth

Impact substitute: T Natarajan

ALSO READ: Qualifier 1 KKR vs SRH Dream11 Prediction, Playing 11, Pitch Report 

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read