India Squad for Australia 2023 ODI Series; Ashwin Returns

Ravichandran Ashwin (image: BCCI)
Ravichandran Ashwin (image: BCCI)

India Squad for Australia 2023 ODI Series: Ahead of the much-awaited India vs Australia ODI series, BCCI announced 2 sets of squads. The first game of the Australia tour of India 2023 will begin with an ODI game on September 22 at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

Ashwin Returns for Australia 2023 ODI Series

The Australia tour of India 2023 will be played in two sets where the ODI series will be played before the Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023. The 5-match T20I series of the Australia tour of India 2023 will resume after the World Cup 2023 completion.

The 3-match ODI series will lay a foundation for team India in their preparation for the ODI World Cup 2023.

Explaining the reason behind resting the core group of the World Cup squad just ahead of the tournament, Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar said that the players need a mental break ahead of the big event.

“Rohit is taking a break. Others are getting a breather. Rohit and Virat have been around forever. Hardik has been there. Kuldeep too. They got a fair amount of cricket in Asia Cup. Guys need a mental break and come the third game our main players will play,” said Agar in the press conference.

Ajit Agarkar - Indian Team chief selector
Ajit Agarkar (Image: BCCI)

Agarkar further gave an update on Axar Patel and Shreyas Iyer’s injury.

“Iyer has not picked a stress fracture otherwise he won’t be in the team. At the moment he is fit and hopefully will get these three games. He did pick up a niggle but he is fit at the moment. Hopefully, Axar will be fit for the third encounter, Ashwin brings experience. Both Ashwin and Washington are there as the backup for Axar. Will look at it when it is time there is no need to speculate about it right now,” he added.

India Squad for Australia 2023 ODI Series

India’s squad for the first two matches

KL Rahul (C & WK), Ravindra Jadeja (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

India ODI squad for third and final ODI

Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, (Vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel*, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj.