HomeCricketNewsIND vs AUS 1st Test: Rahul Dravid Celebrates Usman Khawaja's Dismissal

IND vs AUS 1st Test: Rahul Dravid Celebrates Usman Khawaja’s Dismissal

The much-awaited Border Gavaskar trophy 2023 starts with a fierce performance from the Indian side on the 1st session of the first day.

Rahul Dravid Celebrates Usman Khawaja’s Dismissal

The first Test of the 4-match test series is scheduled to begin on February 9 at Nagpur. Winning the toss, Australia choose to bat first where Indian skipper Rohit Sharma too expressed that he would also choose to bat if the toss went in their favour.

Mohammed Shami opened the bowling attack where David Warner and Usman Khawaja opened the Australian inning. In the second over, Siraj dismissed Khawaja in the very first delivery and draws the first blood for the Australian batting unit.

The early dismissal took the Indian team to fly high in joy. Apart from the players, Indian head coach Rahul Dravid too expressed his joy from the dressing room.

Siraj trapped Khawaja with an in-swinging delivery and although the on-field umpire was not convinced at first, a timely review from skipper Rohit Sharma earned India an early wicket in the encounter.

Never like before, the BCCI invited both Suryakumar and Bharat’s families to come inside the ground and watch the Test cap presentation ceremony. Head coach Rahul Dravid congratulated and shook hands with the family members of both Indian players.

As far as the match is concerned, Australia scored 174 runs for 8 wickets whereas Peter Handscomb and Lyon stand on the crease. On behalf of India, R Jadeja took 4 wickets while Ashwin bagged 2 wickets.

With his first wicket, Ashwin reached the mark of 450 Test wickets and scripts his name in the record book. With the wicket, Ashwin becomes:

  • Second Indian bowler after Anil Kumble (619) to bag more test wickets
  • Second fastest in terms of Tests played (89) behind Muralitharan (80)
  • Second quickest in terms of balls bowled (23635) behind McGrath (23474)

India Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Srikar Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia Squad

Pat Cummins (c), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Matt Renshaw, Peter Handscomb, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Scott Boland.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read