HomeCricketNewsHeather Graham ruled out of Ireland ODIs; Tess Flintoff named replacement

Heather Graham ruled out of Ireland ODIs; Tess Flintoff named replacement

Australia allrounder Heather Graham has been ruled out of the ongoing ODI series against Ireland owing to a calf strain in her right leg.

Heather Graham ruled out of Ireland ODIs

Australia Women will play 3 ODI games against Ireland on July 23, 25 and 28 in Castle Avenue, Dublin.

The injury will also lead Heather Graham to miss the upcoming Hundred 2023 tournament. Cricket Australia named uncapped pace-bowling allrounder Tess Flintoff to the squad for the three ODIs that begin at the Clontarf Cricket Club in Dublin on Sunday.

Graham was added to the Australian squad for the ODI leg of the Ashes and remained for the current tour of Ireland as a replacement for Megan Schutt, who returned home after the multi-format tour of England.

“Graham will remain with the Australian team in Ireland to commence her rehabilitation before returning to Australia to continue this with Cricket Tasmania,” Cricket Australia said in a statement.

Tess Flintoff holds the record for the fastest fifty in the history of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL), coming off in just 16 deliveries. Australia are coming into the ODI series against Ireland after suffering 2-1 defeats in ODIs and T20Is to England, eventually resulting in the Women’s Ashes ending in an 8-8 draw.

Georgia Redmayne was due to play for London Spirit but pulled out earlier this month as she continues her recovery from an Achilles injury, and was replaced by India wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh.

Australia are coming off a 2-1 defeat in ODIs and T20Is against England, eventually drawing the Women’s Ashes in the multi-format series.

Australia squad

Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Ireland squad

Laura Delany (c), Ava Canning, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Louise Little, Jane Maguire, Aimee Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read