HomeCricketNewsECB Announced England Women squad for ICC Women's T20 World Cup

ECB Announced England Women squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

ECB has announced the England Women squad named for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 on January 6, 2023.

England Women squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Alice Capsey has been added to the England Women squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup. Kate Cross is the only another addition to the squad which won all five IT20s in the Caribbean.

Issy Wong and Dani Gibson will join the group for the initial period in South Africa as travelling reserves. England Women will play three warm-up fixtures against New Zealand before the official ICC warm-up games.

Head Coach Jon Lewis said: “It’s always exciting to name a World Cup squad, and there’s a great deal of talent in this group. We saw a lot of good things in the West Indies, a lot of progress around shifting our mindset as a team, and I’m excited to see how we take that into to the challenge of a global tournament.

“We hope Alice is fit enough, she’s worked incredibly hard alongside the medical staff to get to this point and we’ll give her every chance, but as we saw in the Caribbean the depth of talent and skill in the squad is growing fast and winning tournaments is about everyone collectively embracing the moment and enjoying the journey.

“It’s an honour for me to lead a team into a World Cup and I know that we will be giving it everything we have got, not only to show everyone who we are as a team and how we want to play, but also to keep inspiring people to play the game we all love so much.”

Watch: ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 Anthem 

England Women squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

Heather Knight (Western Storm, cap), Lauren Bell (Southern Vipers), Maia Bouchier (Southern Vipers), Katherine Brunt (Northern Diamonds), Alice Capsey (South East Stars), Kate Cross (Thunder), Freya Davies (South East Stars), Charlie Dean (Southern Vipers), Sophia Dunkley (South East Stars), Sophie Ecclestone (Thunder), Sarah Glenn (Central Sparks), Amy Jones (Central Sparks), Nat Sciver (Northern Diamonds), Lauren Winfield-Hill (Northern Diamonds), Danni Wyatt (Southern Vipers)

Travelling Reserves: Issy Wong (Central Sparks), Dani Gibson (Western Storm)

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read