HomeCricketNewsCWI Announced 16 Member West Indies T20I Squad for India series

CWI Announced 16 Member West Indies T20I Squad for India series

The Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming 5-match T20I series against India. During the India tour of West Indies 2022, Team India is scheduled to play 3 ODI matches and 5 T20I matches.

West Indies T20I Squad for India series

Under Nicholas Pooran’s leadership, the team will play their first T20I match against India on July 29 in Brian Lara Stadium, Tarouba, Trinidad. Shimron Hetmyer who was the notable miss in the ODI squad has made his comeback to the T20Is.

The squad is packed with all-rounders, like Jason Holder, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Dominic Drakes, Devon Thomas, Keemo Paul, and Akeal Hosein.

West Indies Squad: Nicholas Pooran (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Shamarh Brooks, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Obed McCoy, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies selector Desmond Haynes while talking about the squad, said that they build the squad keeping in mind the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. He was also pleased to see Hetmyer back in West Indies colours.

“We welcome back Hetmyer and it is good to see him again in West Indies colours. He will fortify the batting group and with his experience and adaptability we have a ‘finisher’ who can add value and win matches for the team and delight the supporters.”

“Everything we do, we have to take into consideration we have a big tournament coming up later this year, which is the ICC T20 World Cup, so we are planning and gearing up towards that event. It is good to give the players some exposure to the international stage and look to find the right combinations.”

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read