AUS vs WI 2024: CA names Ben McDermott as Matthew Short replacement for Final ODI

Ben McDermott

After Matthew Short sustained a low-grade hamstring injury during the second ODI of the West Indies’ Australia tour 2024, Cricket Australia has named Ben McDermott as a replacement for the final ODI at Canberra.

Matthew Short replacement for the 3rd ODI

Ben McDermott has been added to Australia’s ODI squad cutting through his Marsh Sheffield Shield campaign and made his travel to Canberra to play against West Indies.

McDermott had a career-best knock of 146* runs for Queensland during the match against Tasmania between February 03 and 06.

He had a decent run in the recently completed Big Bash League 2023/24 season where he completed the league with 261 runs and stands seventh in the list of Most Runs scored by an individual in the league.

The 29-year-old player has played 25 T20Is and 6 ODIs since his international debut in 2018. He made his last appearance on the format during Australia’s Pakistan tour in March 2022. He scored his only International Century during the tour at Lahore.

Meanwhile, Matthew Short scored 41 runs on 55 deliveries during the second ODI of the tour at No.6 position. He did pull up with a hamstring injury and was not seen in the field in the evening session.

Short who had an impressive run in the BBL season secured a spot in the ODI squad after being named the Player of the Tournament but had an unfortunate injury that made him sidelined for the third match.

“I’m playing it pretty safe so will sit on the boundary for the fielding innings,” said Short during the innings break. With the T20I series set to follow the final ODI match, Short will be sidelined if he remains unfit to play.

Australia and West Indies will play their third and final ODI on February 06 at Manuka Oval.

Australia ODI squad

Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood (vc), Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Lance Morris, Ben McDermott, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa

West Indies ODI squad

Shai Hope (c), Alzarri Joseph, Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, Tevin Imlach, Gudakesh Motie, Kjorn Ottley, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.