BCCI Plans to Rest THESE Senior Players for South Africa T20I Series


BCCI plans to host the South Africa cricket team to play a 5 matches T20I series right after the conclusion of the IPL 2022 season. The first T20I of the 5-match series will be played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi on June 9. Cuttack, Visakhapatnam, Rajkot, and Bengaluru will host the remainder of the series.

BCCI Plans to Rest Senior Players

It has been learnt that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) would be resting a few multi-format players such as Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, and Ravindra Jadeja for the series against South Africa.

According to PTI, some players will only play a few matches while some will be allowed to skip all five matches.

Rohit Sharma with Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma with Virat Kohli

“If all goes well and things remain in control like it is right now, there will be no bio-bubbles and hard quarantine during the home series against South Africa,” a senior BCCI official told PTI.

“Then we are going to Ireland and England and there won’t be any bio-bubble in those countries too. Some players have got periodic breaks but if you look at the bigger picture, living in bio-bubble one series after another and now two months of IPL is simply exhausting for the players,” he added.

The likes of Hardik Pandya, T Natarajan, and Washington Sundar might return to the squad after having had injury concerns in the past.

India, under newly-appointed captain Rohit Sharma, have been phenomenal in the shortest format of the game since the T20 World Cup wherein the side was knocked out in the Super 12 stages.

Virat Kohli had stepped down as captain after the World Cup following which Rohit has had an unblemished record in the shortest format of the game. India have had a 9-0 record in T20Is, having completed clean sweeps against New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka at home.