BCCI announces India A squad for England Lions series

Abhimanyu Easwaran
Abhimanyu Easwaran (image: BCCI)

Abhimanyu Easwaran led India A squad will be playing in a two-day warm-up fixture and a multi-day match against England Lions.

BCCI announces India A squad for England Lions series

The Indian men’s selection committee has announced a 12-member India A squad to face the visiting England Lions side later this month.

The side captained by Abhimanyu Easwaran will take on its English counterparts in a two-day warmup fixture and a multi-day match.

The Men in Blues will be playing a five-match test series in India’s England tour 2024 between January 25 and March 11. Before that India A and England Lions will be playing in two-day warm-up fixtures and a multi-day game.

“The tour will begin with a two-day warm-up game, starting on January 12, 2024, and will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium Ground ‘B,’ Ahmedabad. The first four-day match, commencing on January 17, 2024, will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad,” the BCCI press release quoted.

England Lions have announced their squad for the tour. Lanchsire player Josh Bohannon will be captaining the side. Ollie Robinson is part of the senior team squad that will play against India in a match Test series which is scheduled to start on January 25.

“Playing a series in India at any level is a challenge to get excited about, it’s one of the truest tests for any cricketer. It’s great that our Lions team can experience that challenge and have the opportunity to showcase their skills in those conditions,” England Men’s performance director Mo Bobat said.

“The squad has a strong core of players in it that were out in Abu Dhabi recently for the training camp, with some of those players already selected into the Test squad. There’s also a return for some more experienced players which aligns with supporting England’s more immediate needs,” he added.

India A squad

Abhimanyu Easwaran (Captain), Sai Sudharsan, Rajat Patidar, Sarfaraz Khan, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, KS Bharat (WK), Manav Suthar, Pulkit Narang, Navdeep Saini, Tushar Deshpande, Vidwath Kaverappa, Dhruv Jurel (WK), Akash Deep.

England Lions Squad

Josh Bohannon (captain), Kasey Aldridge, Brydon Carse, Jack Carson, James Coles, Matt Fisher, Keaton Jennings, Tom Lawes, Alex Lees, Dan Mousley, Callum Parkinson, Matt Potts, Ollie Price, James Rew, Ollie Robinson.