HomeCricketNewsBCCI Announced India vs Australia Border Gavaskar 2023 Schedule

BCCI Announced India vs Australia Border Gavaskar 2023 Schedule

Border Gavaskar 2023 Schedule: Australian cricket team has been scheduled to play a Test match at the world’s biggest cricket stadium for the first time early next year, a report from BCCI confirms.

As of January 2021, India holds the trophy after defeating Australia in 2020-21 by two Tests to one, with one drawn match.

Ahmedabad stadium which was recently extended to a 132,000-capacity stadium named after current Prime Minister Narendra Modi will host the last match of Australia’s first men’s Test series in India in six years.

Border Gavaskar 2023 Schedule

The four-Test campaign will get underway in Nagpur on February 9, before matches in the capital Delhi (from February 17) and Dharamsala (March 1).

It has been reported the Ahmedabad Test (March 9) could be a day-night match played with a pink ball. The last Test at that venue was played under lights when England lost to India within two days in early 2021.

Ahmedabad hosted the Indian Premier League final earlier this year when a record crowd of 101,566 attended which leads India to create a Guinness World Record.

Australia’s tour of India will conclude with three ODIs in Mumbai (March 17), Visakhapatnam (March 19), and Chennai (March 22) leading into the next season of the IPL.

The 2023 Border-Gavaskar Trophy could be the last four-Test series between the rivals, with future Australia-India series expected to include five matches. Following are the details of India vs Australia 2023 Schedule:

India beat Australia in Gabba and lifts the series trophy
India beat Australia in Gabba and lifts the series trophy
Date Match Venue
February 9 – 13, 2023 India vs Australia – 1st Test VCA Stadium, Nagpur
February 17 – 21, 2023 India vs Australia -2nd Test Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi
March 1 – 5, 2023 India vs Australia -3rd Test HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala
March 9 – 13, 2023 India vs Australia – 4th Test Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
March 17, 2023 India vs Australia – 1st ODI Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
March 19, 2023 India vs Australia – 2nd ODI Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy International Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
March 22, 2023 India vs Australia – 3rd ODI MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai


In competition for the trophy since 1996, Indian Sachin Tendulkar has been the most successful batsman, scoring 3262 runs from 65 innings. Indian bowler Anil Kumble is the most successful bowler, taking 111 wickets over 20 matches at an average of 30.32

If a series is drawn, the country holding the trophy retains it. The series is named after distinguished former captains, Australia’s Allan Border and India’s Sunil Gavaskar.

Most times won Border Gavaskar Trophy:

  • Total so far – 15
  • India – 10
  • Australia – 5
  • India won in Australia – 2 times
  • Australia won in India – 1 time
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read