BCCI Announced India T20I Squad for West Indies Tour; Kohli, Bumrah Rested


BCCI has announced 18 member squad for the T20I series against West Indies led by Rohit Sharma. Virat Kohli, Bumrah, and Chahal have rested for the India tour of West Indies 2022.

India T20I Squad for West Indies Tour

The Indian team is scheduled to tour West Indies from July – August to play 3 matches ODI series followed by 5 matches T20I series till August 7. Indian cricket team who currently playing in England will play their last ODI match on July 17.

The India tour of West Indies 2022 will kickstart with an ODI match on July 22 in Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad. India will play a total of 8 matches against West Indies where India will play a total of 3 ODI matches and 5 T20I matches.

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli(Image: BCCI)

All matches will be played across Queen’s Park Oval, Brian Lara Stadium, Warner Park, Basseterre, and Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground.

Rohit Sharma will lead India team where KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav will return to the side subject to fitness clearance. Though the squad missed Virat Kohli and Bumrah, the Indian cricket team will see the return of R Ashwin to the T20I squad with BCCI keen to test out all possibilities ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin

Notably, Hardik Pandya and Rishabh Pant have been named in the T20I squad after being rested for the ODI series against West Indies. While India has already named ODI squad for the West Indies tour under Shikhar Dhawan where team India misses their regular members.

India T20I Squad

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*The inclusion of KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav is subject to fitness.