HomeCricketNewsBCB Enter Into A New Contract With The Players, Says BCB Chief

BCB Enter Into A New Contract With The Players, Says BCB Chief

After Shakib Al Hasan prefered to get part in the IPL league over national duty, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) decides to enter into a new contract with the players.

BCB Enters new Contract 

Kolkata Knight Riders snapped Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan for INR 3.2 crores in the IPL 2021 auction. For which Shakib Al Hasan decided to skip the home Test series against Sri Lanka.

As per schedule, Sri Lanka will tour Bangladesh to play a couple of Test matches in April – a series that will likely clash with IPL 2021.

“We will enter into a new contract with the players. It will be mentioned clearly who wants to play which format. They have to inform us. If they have any other engagements, they have to be clear about their availability. It is very open.

“Previously, it depended on individuals but now we are confirming it in writing so that nobody can say that they haven’t been allowed or we kept them forcefully.”

Nazmul was speaking after a meeting with his board members at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium here.

The BCB chief had said it didn’t make sense to stop Shakib from playing in the IPL after he had made his intention clear in a latter to the board recently.

“Couldn’t we have stopped Shakib from going (to the IPL)? He may have played but we don’t want that. We want only those to play, who really love the game. We have tried to keep him interested. When Shakib had declined to play tests three years ago, we made him the captain.

“I didn’t like the timing of it. He was among the players I expected would take charge of the difficult situation. It was disappointing,” he added.

Shakib will return to the IPL after his one-year ban from all forms of cricket after Kolkata Knight Riders bought him for Rs 3.2 crore during the recent players’ auction.

The 33-year-old has previously played for the Knight Riders between 2011 and 2017 and was a key member of their title-winning sides in 2012 and 2014.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read