All-Rounder Angelo Mathews returns for Zimbabwe T20I series

Angelo Mathews
Angelo Mathews (image: SLC)

The All-rounder Angelo Mathews has been named in the T20I squad to play in Zimbabwe’s Sri Lanka tour.

Angelo Mathews returns for Zimbabwe T20I series

The 36-year-old All-rounder has returned to play in the T20I series against Zimbabwe in a home tour and will be featuring in the shortest format after three Years.

Sri Lanka is scheduled to play in a three-match ODIs and T20Is against Zimbabwe on a home tour. With Sri Lanka leading the ODI series 1-0, the third match will be played on January 12.

Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe will be playing T20I series starting on January 14. On this occasion, SLC has named Angelo Mathews in the T20I squad for the Zimbabwe series.

Angelo Matthews finds himself back in the reckoning during the year 2023. He was also left out of the 50-over format in 2021 but injuries saw him cutting the squad later on as a replacement.

Sri Lanka Cricket Team
Sri Lanka (Image: SLC)

Wanindu Hasaranga will take over as Sri Lanka’s full-time captain in the T20 format while Charith Asalanka will serve as vice-captain role from the ODI side.

Despite Wanindu makes return after injury, the T20 squad will also feature the return of Nuwan Thushara and Akila Dananjaya. Thushara has made some significant progress in domestic cricket and also across franchise leagues in the world.

The 29-year-old was sold to Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2024 auction. On the other hand, Dananjaya’s comeback supports Sri Lanka’s spin options as they prepare for the upcoming World Cup in West Indies and USA.

Talking about the Spin unit, Kamindu Mendis makes a return to the squad while Dunith Wellalage and Chamika Karunaratne have been left out. Pathum Nissanka’s Participation will be subject to a fitness test before playing in the T20 match.

Sri Lanka T20I squad for Zimbabwe 

Wanindu Hasaranga(c), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera  Samarawickrama, Kusal Janith Perera, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka. Dhananjaya de Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Pathum Nissanka – (subject to fitness) Maheesh Theekshana. Dushmantha Chameera, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Akila Dananjaya.