HomeCricketNewsACB announces Afghanistan Squad for Ireland One-Off Test

ACB announces Afghanistan Squad for Ireland One-Off Test

The Afghanistan Cricket Board has announced their squad for the One-off test against Ireland.

Afghanistan Squad for Ireland One-Off Test

Afghanistan has named their 16-member squad for the One-off Test which is set to be played in Dubai. The side is set to play a one-off test, three-match ODI, and three-match T20Is against Ireland starting on February 28.

The wicketkeeper batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz was included in the squad while the ace spinner Rashid Khan who missed the T20I series on Afghanistan’s tour of India will continue to rest for the test. This paved the way for uncapped leg spinner Khalil Gurbaz in the squad.

Hashmatullah Shahidi-led Afghanistan is set to play their ninth test match and their second test match against Ireland.

Gurbaz who made his international debut in 2019 is set to make his 91st appearance for the national team. On the other hand, Wicketkeeper Ikram Alikhail donned the wicketkeeping gloves when both sides met in 2019 in Dehradun has been named in the squad.

The ACB’s interim Chief Selector Ahmad Shah Sulimankhil said, “The team underwent a 10-day conditioning camp in Abu Dhabi, which featured 22 players and all the support staff to work with the players and ensure full preparation for the series.”

“We have thoroughly monitored the proceedings and have picked the squad which includes several new faces who have excelled well during the recent domestic events.”

Afghanistan registered a seven-wicket win against Ireland during the last encounter where Rahmat Shah scored 98 and 76 runs in the first and second innings of the match.

Afghanistan suffered a defeat in the test of the Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka in 2024 at Colombo’s Sinhalese Sports Club Ground. The One-off test match is set to be played between February 28 and March 3 at Sheikh Zayed Stadium.

Afghanistan squad for One-Off Test against Ireland

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Ikram Alikhail (wk), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Noor Ali Zadran, Abdul Malik, Bahir Shah, Nasir Jamal, Karim Janat, Khalil Gurbaz, Zahir Khan, Zia-Ur-Rehman, Nijat Masood, Ibrahim Abdulrahimzai, Naveed Zadran.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read