HomeCricketNewsIND vs BAN: Najmul Shanto Chose to Bowl First at Antigua

IND vs BAN: Najmul Shanto Chose to Bowl First at Antigua

T20 World Cup 2024 IND vs BAN: Rohit Sharma-led India is scheduled to play in the 47th match of the T20 World Cup 2024 against Najmul Shanto-led Bangladesh on June 22 at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua.

The contest has gained many expectations as both sides are set to play their second Super 8s match of the tournament on Saturday. India is set to play against Bangladesh after a comfortable victory against Afghanistan on June 20. On the other hand, Bangladesh has suffered a defeat in the Super 8s match against Australia. With no Injuries, both sides will clash against each other with full strength squad.

While speaking at the toss, Rohit Sharma said, “We wanted to bat and that’s what we got. Looks like a good wicket and depends on how much the sun is beating down and making the pitch slow. Important to assess the conditions quickly. We are playing the same team. Important to stay in the present and not worry about other things.”

“We would like to bowl first, we would like to restrict them to a small total and that is the plan. We know the conditions here and also about the wind factor. Looks a good wicket. 15-160 will be a good score I reckon,” said Najmul Shanto at the toss.

IND vs BAN Pitch Report

A keen contest is on the cards. India and Bangladesh have a history of producing close matches in the World Cup although their head-to-head record of 12-1 does not exactly justify the intensity of the contests between the sides.

The last time they played in the T20 World Cup, in Australia, India wriggled out of a tight situation, thanks to a flash of alacrity from KL Rahul, whose direct hit from a distance sent a dangerous Litton Das back. On a pitch that is expected to turn, India should start favourites but Bangladesh will not be pushovers.

IND vs BAN Playing 11


Rohit Sharma(c), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant(w), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah


Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das(w), Najmul Hossain Shanto(c), Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali, Rishad Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Mustafizur Rahman

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read