MLC 2023 Teams: Four of 6 Teams Will Have Owners From IPL

MLC 2023 Teams

MLC 2023 Teams: After scripting their presence in the inaugural SA20 League, IPL team owners now moved their view over the new US-based T20 league – Major League Cricket. A total of 6 teams will feature in the first edition of the Major League Cricket out of which 4 teams will have owners from IPL.

Which Four IPL Teams Involved in MLC

MLC 2023 Teams: The inaugural season of MLC will be played between July 13 and 30 at the newly renovated facility in the Dallas suburb of Grand Prairie, Texas, with the player draft for local US players scheduled to be on March 19 at the NASA Johnson Space Center in Houston.

As per a report, Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Capitals have all bought stakes in the MLC and will anchor franchises in New York, Texas and Seattle respectively.

Prior to these three franchises, Kolkata Knight Riders took charge of the Los Angeles franchise. Like KKR, Mumbai will run the New York franchise on its own.

While Capitals will run the Seattle franchise in partnership with Microsoft chief executive officer Satya Nadella. While Delhi based team in the IPL is co-owned by GMR Sports Private Ltd and Jindal Sports West, it is learned that it is the former that has entered into a partnership with Nadella to run the Seattle franchise.

In a media release issued on Thursday, the MLC confirmed the alliance between the Seattle franchise and Capitals and said the team would be called Seattle Orcas.

Other than Nadella and GMR, the other investors in the Orcas franchise comprise Soma Somasegar (managing director of Madrona Ventures), Samir Bodas (co-founder and CEO, Icertis), Ashok Krishnamurthi (managing partner, GreatPoint Ventures) and Sanjay Parthasarathy (former senior executive at Microsoft and Avalara). Like the Capitals, the Super Kings too, have allied with a local investor in the Dallas franchise.

Who Are The Remaining 2 Teams?

The two other franchises in the league are based out of Washington DC and San Francisco. The Washington DC franchise – to be called Washington Freedom – is owned by local American investor Sanjay Govil, who has tied up with New South Wales Cricket, to provide the operational expertise including helping set up the squad and putting a cricketing structure in place.

A similar strategic tie-up has been struck between the San Francisco franchise, owned by Anand Rajaraman and Venky Harinarayan, and Cricket Victoria.

MLC 2023 Teams

  • CSK – Texas Super Kings
  • MI – MI New York
  • DC – Seattle Orcas
  • KKR – Los Angeles Knight Riders
  • Washington DC – Washington Freedom
  • San Francisco – San Francisco Unicorns

CHECK: Major League Cricket 2023 Squad For All Teams

MLC Purse Value 

As per a report, the teams will have a purse of USD 800,000 for overseas signings and USD 300,000 for the US-based players.

MLC Squad Composition

The squad size will comprise a minimum of 15 and a maximum of 18 players, of which nine can be overseas players. At least six players in the playing XI will need to be from the USA. The overseas players will be direct signings by the franchises, not part of the draft.

Outside of MLC, Mumbai owns teams in South Africa’s SA20 and the UAE-based International League T20 (ILT20), Knight Riders in the Caribbean Premier League and ILT20, Super Kings in SA20, and Capitals (GMR) in ILT20 and SA20.