HomeCricketLPLSuresh Raina Registered For LPL 2023 Player Auction

Suresh Raina Registered For LPL 2023 Player Auction

Former Indian cricketer Suresh Raina who announced his international retirement on August 15, 2020 has registered his name for the upcoming LPL 2023 players’ auction.

Suresh Raina Registered For LPL 2023 Player Auction

The inaugural player auction of the Lanka Premier League is scheduled to take place on June 14, 2023 at the Shangri-La Hotel in Colombo. A total of 360 players have been registered for the LPL 2023 players auction including many international capped and uncapped players.

Among the 360 players, Suresh Raina is the only player to register his name from India. As per the BCCI’s rules, a player has to announce his retirement from all forms of competitive domestic cricket to play in franchise leagues in other countries.

Notably, Raina announced his retirement from all forms of cricket, including IPL and domestic cricket on September 6, 2022. The India cricketer played for CSK and Gujarat Lions in the IPL and represented Uttar Pradesh in domestic tournaments.

Raina has played 205 IPL matches and scored more than 5500 runs, including an unbeaten century.

Former India U-19 cricketers Unmukt Chand and Harmeet Singh are some of the other players who have announced retirement from all forms of domestic cricket to migrate to the United States. He has already played in the Big Bash League.

Unmukt Chand retired from Indian cricket
Unmukt Chand

LPL 2023 Auction Rules

  • All five franchises will be allowed to spend a maximum of US$ 500,000 each.
  • Each team will have a squad for 20-24 players, inclusive of a mandatory six overseas players and 14-19 domestic players.
  • Any money not spent from the pre-signing kitty cannot be carried over to the auction.
  • The teams will also have a right-to-match option for their players, and the money for that has to come from within the auction kitty.
  • Players will be categorised into two groups – capped and uncapped.
  • Each capped player will be able to register themselves under base prices ranging from $10,000 to $50,000 in $10,000 increments.
  • Uncapped players will be classed with a base price as below:
    • $20,000 – Players who played a minimum of 50 first-class matches
    • $10,000 – a minimum of 25 first-class matches, or a minimum of 18 matches in the LPL or any other equivalent T20 franchise league
    • $5000 – those who do not meet any of the aforementioned criteria
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read