HomeCricketWhat is King Pair in Test Cricket? Most Duck Out 2 Innings

What is King Pair in Test Cricket? Most Duck Out 2 Innings

King Pair: If a batsman is out in the first ball he has made a golden duck and if a batsman is dismissed the first ball in both innings he has achieved a king pair.

pair in cricket refers to when a batsman is dismissed for a duck (without scoring) in both innings. This implies that the batsman has only encountered two balls in the match, and he has been knocked out on both of them.

The name originates from the two noughts together being thought to resemble a pair of spectacle, the longer form is occasionally used.

Notably, Sam Curran became the first English cricketer to bag a King Pair at Lord’s.

Most Pairs in Test Debut

New Zealand fast bowler Chris Martin has been dismissed without scoring in both innings in seven Test matches, three more than any other player. Five players have been dismissed for four pairs of ducks in Tests.

Four are bowlers with no great pretensions towards batsmanship – Bhagwat Chandrasekhar of India, Muttiah Muralitharan of Sri Lanka, and West Indians Mervyn Dillon and Courtney Walsh – but the fifth is top-order batsman Marvan Atapattu of Sri Lanka.

He started his Test career with just one run in six innings – including two pairs – and has bagged two more since. The 14 men who have collected three pairs include Glenn McGrath, Curtly Ambrose, and Andrew Flintoff.

King Pairs in Test cricket (Duck Outs)

Player Team Against Year
William Attewell England Australia 1891–92
Ernie Hayes England South Africa 1905-06
Bert Vogler South Africa Australia 1910–11
Tommy Ward South Africa Australia 1912
Robert Crisp South Africa 1935-36
Ian Colquhoun New Zealand England 1954–55
Colin Wesley South Africa England 1960
Bhagwat Chandrasekhar India Australia 1977–78
Gary Troup New Zealand India 1980–81
Dave Richardson South Africa Pakistan 1994–95
Adam Huckle Zimbabwe Pakistan 1997–98
Ajit Agarkar India Australia 1999–2000
Adam Gilchrist Australia India 2000–01
Javed Omar Bangladesh India 2007
Ryan Harris Australia England 2010
Virender Sehwag India England 2011
Rangana Herath Sri Lanka Pakistan 2014
Dhammika Prasad Sri Lanka Pakistan 2015
James Anderson England India 2016
Nuwan Pradeep Sri Lanka Pakistan 2017
Nurul Hasan Bangladesh West Indies 2018
Sam Curran England India 2021

Pairs by Test captains

Sarfaraz Ahmed and Faf du Plessis made pairs in the same match, the first time this had happened in the same Test.

Ian Botham’s pair came in his last Test as captain while Mark Taylor, Rashid Latif, and Habibul Bashar recorded a pair in their first games as captain. 23 captains have been dismissed for a pair in Test matches.

Player Team Against Year
Joe Darling Australia England 1902
Louis Tancred South Africa England 1912
Vijay Hazare India England 1951/52
Harry Cave New Zealand West Indies 1955/56
Frank Worrell West Indies Australia 1960/61
Richie Benaud Australia England 1961
Imtiaz Ahmed Pakistan England 1961/62
Bishen Bedi India England 1976/77
Ian Botham England Australia 1981
Allan Border Australia West Indies 1992/93
Mark Taylor Australia Pakistan 1994/95
Stephen Fleming New Zealand Australia 1997/98
Courtney Walsh West Indies Pakistan 1997/98
Rashid Latif Pakistan South Africa 1997/98
Nasser Hussain England West Indies 2000
Jimmy Adams West Indies Australia 2000/01
Waqar Younis Pakistan Australia 2002/03
Habibul Bashar Bangladesh Zimbabwe 2003/04
Marvan Atapattu Sri Lanka Pakistan 2004/05
AB de Villiers South Africa England 2015/16
Sarfaraz Ahmed Pakistan South Africa 2018/19
Faf du Plessis South Africa Pakistan 2018/19
Mominul Haque Bangladesh India 2019/20

Pairs in a Test Debut

Following are the details of the players who had a pair in their Test debut:

Player Team Against Year
Fred Grace England Australia 1880
Clarence Wimble South Africa England 1891/92
Joseph Willoughby South Africa England 1895/96
Johannes Kotze South Africa Australia 1902/03
Percy Twentyman-Jones South Africa Australia 1902/03
Tommy Ward South Africa Australia 1912
Percy Lewis South Africa England 1913/14
Cecil Dixon South Africa England 1913/14
Ted Badcock New Zealand England 1929/30
Ken James New Zealand England 1929/30
Jim Smith England West Indies 1934/35
Gordon Rowe New Zealand Australia 1945/46
Len Butterfield New Zealand Australia 1945/46
Cuan McCarthy South Africa England 1948
Alf Valentine the West Indies 1950
Ram Ramchand India England 1952
Graham Gooch England Australia 1975
Brendon Bracewell New Zealand England 1978
Mike Whitney Australia England 1981
Maninder Singh India Pakistan 1982/83
Ken Rutherd New Zealand West 1984/85
Chris Kuggeleijn New Zealand India 1988/89
Rashid Patel India New Zealand 1988/89
Marvan Atapattu Sri Lanka India 1990/91
Saeed Anwar Pakistan West Indies 1990/91
Allan Donald South Africa West 1991/92
Stephen Peall Zimbabwe Pakistan 1993/94
Peter McIntyre Australia England 1994/95
Dirk Viljoen Zimbabwe Pakistan 1997/98
Gavin Hamilton England South 1999/00
James Franklin New Zealand Pakistan 2000/01
Alamgir Kabir Bangladesh Sri Lanka 2002/03
Hasantha Fernando Sri Lanka South 2002/03
Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka Australia 2003/04
Chamara Silva Sri Lanka New 2006/07
Chris Tremlett England India 2007
Mark Gillespie New Zealand South 2007/08
Dean Elgar South Africa Australia 2012/13
Natsai M’shangwe Zimbabwe Bangladesh 2014
Rajendra Chandrika West Indies Australia 2015
Alzarri Joseph West Indies India 2016
Kamrul Islam Rabbi for England 2016
Chadd Sayers Australia South 2018
Andrew Balbirnie Ireland Pakistan 2018
Abdul Malik Afghanistan Zimbabwe 2021

Consecutive Pairs

Following are the details of the batsmen who bagged pairs in two Tests in a row. 

Player Team Year
Bobby Peel England 1894–95
Bob Crisp South Africa 1935–36
Wayne Clark Australia 1977–78
Pat Pocock England 1984
Bob Holland Australia 1985/1985-86
Mark Waugh Australia 1992–93
Glenn McGrath Australia 1998–99
Ajit Agarkar India 1999–2000
Merv Dillon West Indies
Dinanath Ramnarine West Indies 2001–02
Shabbir Ahmed Pakistan 2005/2005–06
Nuwan Pradeep Sri Lanka 2017–18


Also Read: What is DLS Method In Cricket & How It Is Calculated?

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read