HomeCricketIPLIPL Team Captains 2023 List For All Teams Including Coach Details

IPL Team Captains 2023 List For All Teams Including Coach Details

IPL Team Captains 2023 List: Captain of the team always plays a crucial role in the team’s victories and defeats. Every franchise will always put all their efforts to grab the best captain for their team.

Captain holds the responsibility of leading the team on the right path. A decision from the captain can change the match’s flow at any point of time.

MS Dhoni who is well known for his captaincy style took many unpredictable decisions while playing for his country. Especially his decision of letting Joginder Sharma to bowl the last in the T20 World Cup 2007 and promoting himself ahead of Yuvraj Singh in the 2011 World Cup creates history in Indian cricket.

Not only MSD many captains made such crucial moves and receives praise as well as criticism throughout their careers.

IPL Team Captain 2023 List

IPL 2023 Team Captains List: The cash-rich Indian Premier League is set to make its 16th anniversary in 2023. A total of 10 teams are set to feature in the IPL 2023 season.

As per IPL 2023 schedule, Chennai Super Kings and defending champions Gujarat Titans will play their first match of the tournament on March 31. Following are the details of the IPL Teams Captain List for the year 2023 with Head Coach details:

Team Captain Head Coach
Chennai Super Kings M. S. Dhoni Stephen Fleming
Delhi Capitals David Warner Ricky Ponting
Gujarat Titans Hardik Pandya Ashish Nehra
Kolkata Knight Riders Nitish Rana Chandrakant Pandit
Lucknow Super Giants Krunal Pandya Andy Flower
Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Mark Boucher
Punjab Kings Shikhar Dhawan Trevor Bayliss
Rajasthan Royals Sanju Samson Kumar Sangakara
Royal Challengers Bangalore Faf du Plessis Sanjay Bangar
Sunrisers Hyderabad Aiden Markram Brian Lara

READ: IPL 2023 Squad of All Teams – 10 Teams Updated List

IPL 2023 Format

IPL 2023 Format: The format of the IPL 2023 edition will be the same as the previous year but there will be changes in the venues. Following are the details of the IPL 2023 Format:

  • The ten teams are divided into two groups of five.
  • A random draw was used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice.
  • In the group stage, each team plays 14 games facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team two times.
  • IPL Points Table system: The team winning a match will be awarded 2 points. The losing team will not receive any points. In case of a draw or no result, both teams will be awarded 1 point.
  • A four-game playoff stage following the Page playoff system is held after the group stage. Four games will be played in the playoffs:
      • Qualifier 1: between the teams ranked first and second in the group stage.
      • Eliminator: between the teams ranked third and fourth in the group stage.
      • Qualifier 2: between the loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator.
      • Final: between the winners of Qualifiers 1 and 2.

READ: IPL 2023 Prediction: Today’s Match Toss, Winner Predictions

IPL 2023 New Rules

IPL 2023 New Rules: BCCI introduced Impact Player Rule in IPL 2023 season and bring up a major change in IPL history. Apart from this, the tournament will follow the last edition’s rules. Following are the details of the IPL 2023 rules:

  • IPL 2023 to have two DRS for each inning.
  • Upon a catch dismissal, irrespective of whether the batsmen have crossed or not the incoming batsman will take the strike, except if it’s the last ball of the over
  • If any team fails to find their playing XI due to COVID-19, the BCCI will attempt to reschedule the game later in the IPL 2023.
  • If rescheduling won’t be possible then IPL Technical Team will see the matter.
  • In Playoffs/Final: If Super Over or subsequent Super Overs can’t be completed due to some reason then the team that has finished higher in the league will be declared as the winner.

What is Impact Player Rule

  • Impact Player can only be an Indian player unless there are less than 4 overseas players in the Playing XI.
  • Only an overseas player who is part of 4 substitutes named in the team sheet can be used as an Impact Player. If a team introduces an overseas player as an Impact Player in a match, in no circumstance can a 5th overseas player take the field.
  • Teams need to pick 4 substitutes along with the playing X1 during toss time & out of 4, only one can be used as an impact player.
  • Captain will nominate the Impact Player
  • Impact Player can be introduced before the start of the innings, or after the completion of the over, or after the fall of a wicket or after the batter retires anytime during the over.
  • A Player who is replaced by an Impact Player (“Replaced Player”) can no longer take part in the remainder of the match and is also not permitted to return as a substitute fielder.
  • The BCCI confirms that an Impact Player cannot act as a captain.
  • An Impact Player can come in place of a retired batter who will be allowed to come later if need be.
  • Both teams are allowed to use one Impact Player per match. It is, however, not compulsory. It is up to teams whether they want to use the Impact Player or not.
  • If a player gets injured while fielding mid-over, he can no longer take part in the match if the team introduces Impact Player to replace him.
  • In case of an injury to the impact player during the match, a substitute fielder is allowed to field in place of an injured player only if umpires are satisfied.
  • The substitute shall not bowl or act as captain.
  • Penalty time for the batting and fielding teams will apply to the player off the field for the substitute as per the playing conditions.
Shivam Mavi
Shivam Mavi(Image: IPL)
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read