IPL 2021 Qualified Teams For Playoffs – Format Details Updated

IPL 2021 qualified teams
IPL qualified teams

IPL 2021 Qualified Teams – Though there are 8 teams participating in the IPL 2021 season, only 4 teams will qualify to play the playoff rounds among which 2 teams will play the finals of the tournament.

The top 4 teams presiding at the top of the IPL Points Table will be eligible to play the play-off rounds. That is after each team has played 14 games apiece – the four teams at the top of the points table will qualify for the playoffs.


In case two teams end their 14 games with the same number of points, then the team with the better run-rate will qualify.

Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders will face each other to play the IPL 2021 finals on October 15, 2021.

Check out the updated IPL 2021 playoff qualified teams details below:

1Chennai Super KingsFinals Qualified
2Delhi CapitalsEliminated
3Royal Challengers BangaloreEliminated
4Kolkata Knight RidersFinals Qualified
5Mumbai IndiansDisqualified
6Rajasthan RoyalsDisqualified
7Punjab KingsDisqualified
8Sunrisers HyderabadDisqualified


IPL Playoff Format

The playoffs consist of two Qualifiers and one Eliminator. Qualifier 1 is played first, followed by the Eliminator and then Qualifier 2.

Qualifier 1: The first Qualifier is played between the top two teams in the points table. The Qualifier is like a semi-final. The team winning this game goes straight to the IPL final. The loser of Qualifier 1 takes part in Qualifier 2 – for another shot at the final. Thus, the teams finishing in the top two spots of the points table get two bites of the cherry – they have two chances to qualify for the IPL final.

Eliminator: The Eliminator is played between teams who finish at the third and fourth position in the points table. Like the name suggests, the team losing this match is out of the competition. The winner of this match goes into Qualifier 2.

Qualifier 2: The loser of Qualifier 1 and the winner of the Eliminator play this game. This again is like a semi-final and the team winning this game moves into the final.

IPL Final: The final and the most crucial juncture of this prestigious competition is played between the winner of Qualifier 1 and the winner of Qualifier 2.

Mumbai Indians lifts IPL 2020 trophy
Mumbai Indians lifts IPL 2020 trophy

IPL Points Table 2021

IPL points table 2021 Today will be updated once each match is completed with the latest Net Run Rate. The Points table rules are explained as mentioned already.

Delhi Capitals1410400200.481
Chennai Super Kings149500180.455
Royal Challengers Bangalore14950018-0.14
Kolkata Knight Riders147700140.587
Punjab Kings14680012-0.001
Mumbai Indians13670012-0.048
Rajasthan Royals14590010-0.993
Sunrisers Hyderabad13310006-0.422


IPL 2021 Qualified Teams

IPL 2021 Qualified Teams Scenarios – With each team left to play 3 or 4 matches each in the remainder of the league stage of the season, here’s a look at the qualification scenario of all 8 franchises.

Chennai Super Kings

Ruling the top of the IPL 2021 points table, CSK made it into the playoffs and eventfully becomes the first team to register their name in the IPL 2021 playoffs.

CSK becomes the first team to qualify for the IPL 2021 finals.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals becomes the second team to qualify for the IPL 2021 playoffs after PBKS beat KKR by 5 wickets.

DC ended up as the team in third place of the IPL 2021 tournament after losing the qualifier 2 match against KKR.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Two successive defeats in the UAE leg of the campaign had started to worry the Royal Challengers Bangalore camp but the win against Mumbai Indians saw them reaffirm their credentials for a top-four finish. With four games to go in the remainder of the league campaign, RCB qualified for the knockouts(Updated). 

Eliminated in IPL 2021 Eliminator match.

Kolkata Knight Riders

A healthy Net Run Rate is the biggest positive in KKR’s hopes of cementing a top-four spot. With three games to go in their league campaign, a victory in all of them would see Eoin Morgan & Co. being guaranteed progression. However, two wins in three might also be enough if their NRR remains better than the rest with the same tally of points.

KKR qualified for the IPL 2021 finals by beating DC in Qualifier 2.

Mumbai Indians

After losing their first three games of the UAE leg, Mumbai Indians bounced back in style to defeat Punjab Kings and bring their playoffs qualification hopes on track. Three wins in the remaining three will see them finish in the top four but even a single defeat could haunt them because of the poor Net Run Rate of -0.453.

Disqualified for the IPL 2021 playoffs

Punjab Kings

With 8 points in 11 games, the story isn’t all over for Punjab Kings but their case is a tricky one. Firstly, they need to ensure that they win their remaining three games of the league campaign. Secondly, they also have to hope that RCB, MI, and KKR lose at least two of their remaining games, that too with decent margins.

Disqualified for the IPL 2021 playoffs