HomeCricketIndia Vs West IndiesIND vs WI 2022: Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Joined the India...

IND vs WI 2022: Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Joined the India Squad

KL Rahul Joined the India Squad: Indian ODI team vice-captain KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, and Navdeep Saini have joined the Indian squad for the 2nd ODI series against West Indies at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul Joined the India Squad

The second One-Day-International of the three-match ODI series between India and West Indies is set to be played on February 9 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Just two days ahead of the match, three players who weren’t available for the first ODI, have now joined the Indian team.

KL Rahul has opted out of the 1st ODI match against West Indies due to personal reasons. Agarwal, who was then still completing his quarantine after being added to team India’s side last week, missed the series opener.

Meanwhile, Navdeep Saini, who had tested positive for Covid-19, is also back with the team. The speedster was a reserve player and has now become part of the Indian camp after testing Covid negative in two consecutive RT-PCR tests.

On Monday, the Indian cricket board (BCCI) took to Twitter to share pictures of Rahul, Mayank, and Saini training at the Narendra Modi Stadium as India began preparation for the second ODI, which will be played on Wednesday.

“Look who are here! The trio has joined the squad and sweated it out in the practice session today. #TeamIndia | #INDvWI,” the BCCI said in a statement.

In the 3 matches ODI series of the West Indies tour of India, the hosts lead the series by winning the series opener. India beats West Indies by 6 wickets and leads the series. This is the first ODI series for new skipper Rohit Sharma who was recently appointed as the Indian skipper right after Virat Kohli steps down from the captaincy role.

In the first ODI match, winning the toss India decides to field first and restricts West Indies to score 176 runs for losing all 10 wickets at the end of 44 overs. Chahal, who joined the team after a long gap bags 4 wickets while W Sundar bagged 3 wickets under their names respectively.

Rohit Sharma who opened the chasing with his former IPL team opener Ishan Kishan scored 60 runs and gave a steady start which later leads India to register their first victory of the series.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read