HomeCricketIndia become the first Asian Team to win a Test in Cape...

India become the first Asian Team to win a Test in Cape Town

Rohit Sharma led-Indian side is the first Asian team to win a test match in South Africa.

First Asian Team to win a Test in Cape Town

India won the second test of India’s South Africa tour in 2023-24 at Newlands by seven wickets. After suffering a defeat in the first match of the tour, their victory in the second match helped the side to level the series.

After starting the match in Cape Town on January 03, 2024, South Africa won the toss and chose to bat. Dean Elgar led South Africa and was folded for 55 runs in the first innings.

The fall of wickets started over when Aiden Markram caught out in slip. Right after his dismissal, Dean Elgar was bowled out which gave a perfect game for India at Cape Town.

Siraj’s wickets came from the nine overs he bowled. He made use of the pitch conditions to offer a disaster to the Proteas batting unit.

Out of those Bedingham and Verreynne were the ones to score double-digit runs with Siraj destroying the batting unit. Mukesh Kumar who made his debut and Jasprit Bumrah picked two wickets each.

India started their innings where Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma where the young batter was sent out with a duck. Rohit Sharma scored 39 runs on 50 deliveries and was sent out by Nandre Burger.

Nandre Burger was impressive as he dismissed Indian skipper, Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer. Shubman Gill scored 36 runs which included 5 boundaries. India scored 111 runs for four wickets.

Finally, India was all out for 153 runs where the last six wickets were dismissed without making a single run.

South Africa started their second innings and scored 62 runs on the second innings losing 3 wickets by the end of 17 overs. After resuming the match in Day 2, South Africa scored 176 runs in 37 overs.

Bumrah had a six-wicket haul in the second innings while Mukesh Kumar dismissed two batters. Markram was impressive with his 106 runs on 103 runs with 17 boundaries and 2 sixes.

With a trial of 78 runs, India started their innings where they scored 80 runs and won the match by 7 wickets. Yashasvi Jaiswal scored 28 runs in the second innings, while Rohit Sharma stands with 17* runs on the field.

With the dismissal of Virat Kohli and Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer joined the skipper and won the match.

With this victory, India won a test match in South Africa after 13 years. India will be playing a T20I series against Afghanistan starting on January 11.

The first T20I match will be kickstart at 07:00 PM IST on January 11 at Punjab Cricket Association Stadium.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read