HomeCricketIPLIPL 2020 : KKR vs RCB Highlights - Match 39 | RCB...

IPL 2020 : KKR vs RCB Highlights – Match 39 | RCB Won by 8 Wickets

IPL 2020 KKR vs RCB Highlights: KKR is set to play the 39th match of IPL 2020 against RCB. KKR is in need to win the match in order to stay ahead in the competition for the fourth spot in the points table.

If RCB wins this match they would move to the second position next to DC in the IPL 2020 points table.

Match: Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) vs Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB)

Venue: Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Toss Details: Kolkata Knight Riders won the toss and opt to bat

Captains View 

Eoin Morgan | KKR skipper

We are gonna bat first. The wicket looks good. The games we have won so far, the majority of them we have batted first. It seems to have worked for us throughout the tournament so far.

There’s (batting in the powerplay) been a continuous improvement from the start of the tournament to the last game. In the last game, we paced it really well. The wickets have been slower which has made it more challenging.

The guys at the top against Sunrisers did a great job. A couple of changes. Banton and Prasidh come in for of Mavi and Russell. Dre picked up a niggle in the last game, Sunil is still not 100%.

Virat Kohli | RCB skipper

We would have batted first. Looks like a good pitch with, shorter boundary on one side. It should be a good chase as long as we bowl well first and restrict a strong batting line-up to a decent total.

It’s not a drastic change, on the day if you are playing well, you can win on any ground. We bowled them out cheaply in Sharjah which was supposedly not happening in any game. We did play good cricket last time here.

It’s all about how we come out to the field and execute our plans. We are going back to the bowling line-up that played against them last time around. So, Shahbaz Ahmed misses out and Siraj replaces him.

Playing XI

Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR)

Shubman Gill, Tom Banton, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan(c), Dinesh Karthik(w), Rahul Tripathi, Pat Cummins, Lockie Ferguson, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy.

Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB)

Devdutt Padikkal, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers(w), Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Yuzvendra Chahal.

KKR vs RCB Highlights

Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) Batting

Shubman Gill and Tripathi get in to lead KKR. Chris Morris opens the attack against KKR. Siraj in his first over dismissed Tripathi and Rana in back-to-back deliveries and completes the over as maiden. KKR loses one of it’s best batting pair within an over.

Navdeep Saini in the next over dismissed Gill and makes a massive blow to the KKR batting order. Siraj bowled his second over next to Saini and dismissed Tom Banton. KKR loses its wicket almost every over. At the end of the powerplay, KKR scored 17 runs for 4 wicket loss.

Siraj dismissed Rana and Tripathi in back to back deliveries
Siraj dismissed Rana and Tripathi in back to back deliveries

KKR bags the first position in the list of lowest powerplay score in the IPL 2020.

Lowest Powerplay scores in IPL 2020
17/4 KKR v RCB Abu Dhabi
23/3 DC v KXIP Dubai
25/2 KKR v KXIP Abu Dhabi
26/2 CSK v RCB Dubai
26/1 SRH v RR Dubai

KKR struggles to face RCB bowlers as they lose another wicket of Dinesh Karthik for 4 runs and scored 36 runs for 5 wicket loss. RCB bowlers set to play in the aggressive mode as they dismissed almost every player within scoring 10 runs. Washington Sundar scatters the only hope of KKR by dismissing Morgan for 30 runs. KKR finally scored 84 runs for 8 wicket loss.

Lowest totals batting all 20 overs (IPL)
84/8 KKR vs RCB Abu Dhabi 2020 *
92/8 KXIP vs CSK Durban 2009
94/8 MI vs RR Jaipur 2011
95/9 KXIP vs CSK Chennai 2015

Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB) Batting 

Devdutt Padikkal and Finch get in to lead RCB to chase the target. Pat Cummins gets in to lead the attack against RCB. With a lower target to chase down RCB makes a decent start where RCB scored 44 runs for no wicket loss at the end of the powerplay.

KKR is in need to make back to back wickets as RCB did in the first innings. Ferguson makes a back to back wickets in his first over by dismissing Finch and  Devdutt Padikkal.

Lockie Ferguson dismissed Gurkeerat Singh and Finch in the same over
Lockie Ferguson dismissed Gurkeerat Singh and Finch in the same over

Back to back wickets poses a threat to the RCB batting order. With Virat Kohli in the strike, RCB still in the comfort zone of winning.

Without any big shots, RCB makes their 7th victory of the IPL 2020 by beating KKR by 8 wickets.

Watch KKR vs RCB highlights

Also read: IPL 2020 Points Table – Indian Premier League Team Standings

Man of the Match 

Mohammed Siraj | RCB

Was bowling with the new ball a lot in practice, got the opportunity today. The mood in the camp is great. Everyone is supporting each other, talking to each other. Cherished the delivery to Rana, came out exactly as I had thought.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read