HomeCricketAustralia Women's Tri-seriesAustralia women's Tri-series Finals:Australia vs India hosts took the Trophy home

Australia women’s Tri-series Finals:Australia vs India hosts took the Trophy home

Venue : Junction Oval, Melbourne

Toss : Australia Women won the toss and opt to bat

Playing XI

Australian squad : Alyssa Healy (wk), Beth Mooney, Ashleigh Gardner, Meg Lanning(c), Ellyse Perry, Rachael Haynes, Nicola Carey, Annabel Sutherland, Jess Jonassen, Megan Schutt, Tayla Vlaeminck.

India Squad : Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Deepti Sharma, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh, Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav.


After the lost against India in previous match Australian openers Healy and Mooney gets in the game . Healy return to pavilion with a single digit score after hitting the first ball towards the boundary line. She failed to show off her performance in this T20 Tri series as she mostly scored  single digit runs. Beth Mooney and Ashleigh Gardner made a partnership of 50 runs for the second wicket. Soon Gardner lose her wicket to Arundhati Reddy when she scored 26 off 24.

Unstoppable Beth Mooney!

Captain Meg Lanning joins hands with Beth Mooney who strike aggressively and scores half century from just 42 deliveries. After Lanning went off for 26 from 19 the well expected all rounder Ellyse Perry return pavillion with scoring a single run. But Mooney remains undefeated and scored 71 from 54 that pump up the Australians score, where Rachael Haynes 18 off 7 assist the Australians to score 155 runs in 20 overs. Deepti Sharma and Rajeshwari Gayakwad each took wickets that controls the Australia from scoring further.

Australia women's Tri-series Beth Mooney scored a half century
Australia women’s Tri-series Beth Mooney scored a half century

India keen to win the trophy

With a target of 156 to claim the Cup India opener Shafali Verma and Mandhana gets in the ground. The 16 year old young star failed to shine and return to pavilion with a score of 10 from 9. Richa Ghosh shows up and partnered with Mandhana and this duo sums up 43 runs. Richa Ghosh lost her wicket when she scored 17 off 23 and India were at the stage of 54 for 2. Annabel Sutherland took her maiden International wicket by dismissing Richa Ghosh.

Australia womens triseries finals
Australia womens triseries finals India struggle to score runs

Mandhana’s effort ends useless

The much needed partnership of Harmanpreet Kaur and Mandhana was scattered by Megan Schutt when she uproot the wicket of Mandhana(66 off 37). The aggressive game of Mandhana that consist of twelve 4’s come to an end. Soon after the Mandhana’s wicket India starts to collapse when Jess Jonassen took couple of wickets in the 15th over. India struggled to face the Australian bowlers with 15 runs required from last over India played in under pressure without their top order players. After a thrilling last over Australia women’s team took the trophy by winning India with a difference of 11 runs.

Australia womens Tri seris Mandhana's aggressive strike
Australia womens Tri seris Mandhana’s aggressive strike of 66 from 37 balls

Player of the match

Jess Jonassen(Australia)

Bowling : 5 wickets for 12 runs in 4 overs

Player of the tournament

Beth Mooney(Australia)

Batting : 208 runs in the tournament.

Player of the tournament Beth Mooney
Player of the tournament Beth Mooney



Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read