HomeCommonwealth GamesCommonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Schedule, Squad - Updated

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Schedule, Squad – Updated

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Schedule Squad: The 2022 edition of the Commonwealth Games will run from 28th July 2022 to 8th August and all the matches will be played at the Edgbaston Cricket Ground, the home of Warwickshire Cricket Club.

Birmingham will see eight teams participating in the Twenty20 format of the game. This is the first time since 1998 that cricket will be a part of the Commonwealth Games, albeit only as a women’s sport.

When the sport was last included during the Kuala Lumpur games in 1998, it was a men’s event and South Africa clinched the gold medal, beating Australia in the final. The cricket games in Kuala Lumpur were played in the 50-over format.

On 22 December 2017, the BBC reported that the organisers of the games were in talks with the International Cricket Council (ICC) about the inclusion of women’s cricket.

In November 2018, the ICC confirmed that they have submitted a bid to include women’s cricket in the Games. The bid was made in partnership with the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). READ: 2022 Commonwealth Games Medal Table | Ranking By Country

In April 2021 the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced all matches at the tournament would hold Twenty20 International status. The dates of the tournament were confirmed in June 2021.


Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Schedule

Edgbaston Cricket Ground in Birmingham will be the venue for the matches. Though there were suggestions for matches to also be held at the County Cricket Ground, Derby, New Road, Worcester and Grace Road, Leicester, none of these were selected in the final confirmation

T20 World Champions Australia will take on runners-up India in the opening match of the competition on 29 July.

Group A

Date Match Venue
29 July 2022 Australia vs India
Edgbaston, Birmingham
29 July 2022 Pakistan vs Barbados
Edgbaston, Birmingham
31 July 2022 India vs Pakistan
Edgbaston, Birmingham
31 July 2022 Barbados vs Australia
Edgbaston, Birmingham
3 August 2022 Australia vs Pakistan
Edgbaston, Birmingham
3 August 2022 India vs Barbados
Edgbaston, Birmingham

Group B

Date Match Venue
30 July 2022 New Zealand vs South Africa
Edgbaston, Birmingham
30 July 2022 England vs Sri Lanka
Edgbaston, Birmingham
2 August 2022 England vs South Africa
Edgbaston, Birmingham
2 August 2022 Sri Lanka vs New Zealand
Edgbaston, Birmingham
4 August 2022 South Africa vs Sri Lanka
Edgbaston, Birmingham
4 August 2022 England vs New Zealand
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Semifinals and Finals
Date Match Venue
6 August 2022 India Women vs England Women, 1st Semi-Final
Edgbaston, Birmingham
6 August 2022 Australia Women vs New Zealand Women, 2nd Semi-Final
Edgbaston, Birmingham
7 August 2022 England Women vs New Zealand Women, 3rd Place Play-off
Edgbaston, Birmingham
7 August 2022 India Women vs Australia Women, Final
Edgbaston, Birmingham

READ: Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Points Table With Team Standings

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket Squad

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket squad: The squad for the participating 8 teams will be updated here once it is officially announced. Stay tuned for the latest updates!!!


Meg Lanning (c), Rachael Haynes (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Amanda-Jade Wellington

READ: How to Watch Commonwealth Games 2022 Live Streaming in Your Location


Bismah Maroof (c), Muneeba Ali (wk), Anam Amin, Aiman Anwer, Diana Baig, Nida Dar, Gull Feroza (wk), Tuba Hassan, Kainat Imtiaz, Sadia Iqbal, Iram Javed, Ayesha Naseem, Aliya Riaz, Fatima Sana, Omaima Sohail

New Zealand 

Sophie Devine (c), Suzie Bates, Eden Carson, Izzy Gaze, Claudia Green, Maddy Green, Brooke Halliday, Hayley Jensen, Fran Jonas, Amelia Kerr, Rosemary Mair, Jess McFadyen, Georgia Plimmer, Hannah Rowe, Lea Tahuhu


Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia (Wk), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.


Heather Knight (Captain), Maia Bouchier, Katherine Brunt, Alice Capsey, Kate Cross, Freya Davies, Sophia Dunkley, Sophie Ecclestone, Sarah Glenn, Amy Jones, Freya Kemp, Nat Sciver, Bryony Smith, Issy Wong, Danni Wyatt


Hayley Matthews (c), Aaliyah Alleyne, Shanika Bruce, Shai Carrington, Shaunte Carrington, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Keila Elliott, Trishan Holder, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight
Alisa Scantlebury, Shakera Selman, Tiffany Thorpe, Aaliyah Williams

South Africa 

Suné Luus (c), Anneke Bosch, Trisha Chetty, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Nadine de Klerk, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Mignon du Preez, Tumi Sekhukhune, Shabnim Ismail, Chloe Tryon, Laura Wolvaardt

Sri Lanka

Chamari Athapaththu, Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Rashmi de Silva, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani

Commonwealth Games 2022 Cricket – Qualifications

  • In November 2020, the ICC announced the qualification process for the 2022 Commonwealth Games tournament.
  • England automatically qualifies as the hosts, along with the six highest-ranked sides as of 1 April 2021 as direct qualifiers.
  • One further place will be awarded to the winners of a Commonwealth Games Qualifier tournament.
  • The allocation of the six direct qualifiers via the ICC Women’s T20I rankings will be dependant on the representation of at least four out of the six Commonwealth Games Federation regions (Africa, Americas, Asia, Caribbean, Europe and Oceania).
  • If at least four regions are not represented from those in the top seven, then teams ranked 8th to 10th will be first considered to meet this criteria before filling the remaining allocations from the rankings.
  • As the West Indies qualified as a direct qualifier, the results of a separate tournament were originally going to used to determine which Commonwealth Games Association (CGA) earned qualification.
  • The tournament was scheduled to be contested between Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago, and two composite teams representing the Leeward Islands and the Windward Islands.
  • However, in August 2021, Cricket West Indies (CWI) confirmed that the regional qualifier had been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
  • As a result, Barbados were selected to represent the West Indies, by virtue of being the Twenty20 Blaze defending champions
Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read