HomeCricketWPLWomen's Premier League Teams And Owners - Updated List

Women’s Premier League Teams And Owners – Updated List

WPL Teams And Owners: The first edition of the Women’s Premier League will be played between 5 teams and is likely to be held in March 2023 entirely in Mumbai.

WPL Teams And Owners

WPL Teams And Owners: As for men’s IPL, Women’s Premier League too follow the auction format to bag the players from the auction pool. WPL 2023 player auction will take place next month while BCCI is likely to unveil the names of the FIVE Women’s Premier League franchises on January 25.

Chennai Super Kings have decided not to participate in the WPL. Women’s Premier League becomes the 2nd most expensive Cricket league after Men’s IPL. Out of 10 men’s IPL teams, 8 franchise have shown their interest in owing a team in the inaugural WPL.

The franchise that are going to submit bids for the Women’s Premier League teams are Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Titans

Notably, Manchester United owners have also shown interest in the WPL team. WPL to have 5 teams from these 10 cities:

Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Lucknow and Indore. The highest Bid will get the first choice to select the city so on. Following are the details of the WPL Teams And Owners:

Team Name Owner City Captain Amount
Gujarat Giants Adani Group Ahmedabad Beth Mooney INR 1289 Cr
Mumbai Indians Reliance Industries Mumbai Harmanpreet Kaur INR 912.99 Cr
Royal Challengers Bangalore Diageo Bengaluru Smriti Mandhana INR 901 Cr
Delhi Capitals JSW–GMR Delhi Meg Lanning INR 810 Cr
UP Warriorz Capri Global Lucknow Alyssa Healy INR 757 Cr

WPL 2023 Broadcasting Rights

Viacom 18, had acquired the global media rights for TV and digital broadcast for the inaugural women’s Premier League under a five-year contract beginning in 2023 for an amount of INR 951 crore.

WPL 2023 Auction will be broadcasted on the Sports18 TV channel and Jio Cinema app in India. Check WPL 2023 Auction Live Streaming For All Locations.

WPL 2023 Format 

WPL 2023 Format: WPL 2023 will follow the Round Robin format with Group System and Playoffs format. Following are the details of the WPL 2023 Format:

  • All participating(5) teams will play against each other twice which will mark a total of 20 league matches.
  • The topper of the WPL 2023 Points Table will directly qualify for the final.
  • The eliminator match will be played between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams.
  • The winner of the eliminator will qualify as the second finalist for the Women’s Premier League 2023 final match.

The BCCI has also said March will remain the window for the WPL. From the 2026 season, the WPL could comprise “33-34″ matches but the BCCI has not fleshed out any detail on the tournament structure.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read