HomeCricketWPL2024 WPL Format - All You Need to Know

2024 WPL Format – All You Need to Know

The Women’s Premier League or WPL is a women’s T20 cricket league which is owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

After leading the Men’s IPL towards glory, BCCI introduced the Women’s Premier League in 2023 with a total of 5 teams. As for Men’s IPL, the Women’s Premier League also follows the Auction process for the teams to build their squad.

2024 WPL Format 

2024 WPL Format: The second edition of the WPL will be played between February 23 to March 17. As per WPL 2024 Schedule, the first match will be played between Mumbai Indians women and Delhi Capitals Women on February 23 in Bengaluru,

Women’s Premier League 2024 will follow the Round Robin format with Group System and Playoffs format. Following are the details of the Women’s Premier League 2024 Format:

  • All participating(5) teams will play against each other twice which will mark a total of 20 league matches.
  • The topper of the Women’s Premier League Points Table will directly qualify for the final.
  • The eliminator match will be played between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams.
  • The winner of the eliminator will qualify as the second finalist for the Women’s Premier League final match.

The BCCI has also said March will remain the window for the WPL. From the 2026 season, the WPL could comprise “33-34″ matches but the BCCI has not fleshed out any detail on the tournament structure.

WPL Teams And Owners

BCCI have received INR 4669.99 crores in the Women’s Premier League team Auction. Following are the details of the WPL Teams And Owners:

Team Name Owner City Captain Amount
Gujarat Giants Adani Group Ahmedabad Beth Mooney INR 1289 Cr
Mumbai Indians Indiawin Sports Mumbai Harmanpreet Kaur INR 912.99 Cr
Royal Challengers Bangalore Diageo Bangalore Smriti Mandhana INR 901 Cr
Delhi Capitals JSW–GMR Delhi Meg Lanning INR 810 Cr
UP Warriorz Capri Global Lucknow Alyssa Healy INR 757 Cr


CHECK: Women’s Premier League Sponsors List – Full Details

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read