Women’s Premier League 2024 Format, Rules – Detailed Explanation

WPL Format 

WPL 2024 Format: The second edition of the WPL will be played among 5 WPL teams where a total of 23 matches will be played. The Women’s Premier League or WPL is a women’s T20 cricket league which is owned and operated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

A total of 5 teams will play in the tournament where each team will play against each other in a double round-robin format, and the three teams finishing with the most points enter the playoff stages of the competition.

As per the WPL 2024 schedule, the defending champions Mumbai Indians will face Delhi Capitals in the opener at M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

WPL 2024 Format 

WPL 2024 Format: WPL 2024 will follow the Round Robin format with Group System and Playoffs format. Following are the details of the WPL 2024 Format:

  • All participating(5) teams will play against each other twice which will mark a total of 20 league matches.
  • The topper of the WPL 2024 Points Table will directly qualify for the final.
  • The eliminator match will be played between the 2nd and 3rd placed teams.
  • The winner of the eliminator will qualify as the second finalist for the WPL 2024 final match.

The BCCI has also said March will remain the window for the WPL. From the 2026 season, the WPL could comprise “33-34″ matches but the BCCI has not fleshed out any detail on the tournament structure.

WPL 2024 Rules

Team combination will always play a crucial role in the team’s strength. Each team also bag backup players during the auction event. Following are the details of the Women’s Premier League 2024 Rules:

  • Each team is allowed a maximum squad size of 18 players
  • No team can have more than six overseas players in their squad
  • A team will be allowed to have a maximum of five overseas players, four of whom may come from Full Member nations and the fifth from an Associate Member nation.

As of the last season, players with the most runs and most wickets will receive Orange and Purple cap respectively along with the cash prize at the end of the tournament. As of IPL, the participants of the Women’s Premier League starts to withdraw from the 2024 season owing to various reasons.

Earlier we have listed the WPL 2024 Live Streaming For All Locations details which is scheduled to take place in February.

WPL Teams And Owners

BCCI have received INR 4669.99 crores in the Women’s Premier League team Auction. Following are the details of the WPL Teams And Owners:

Team Name Owner City Captain Amount
Gujarat Giants Adani Group Ahmedabad Beth Mooney INR 1289 Cr
Mumbai Indians Indiawin Sports Mumbai Harmanpreet Kaur INR 912.99 Cr
Royal Challengers Bangalore Diageo Bangalore Smriti Mandhana INR 901 Cr
Delhi Capitals JSW–GMR Delhi Meg Lanning INR 810 Cr
UP Warriorz Capri Global Lucknow Alyssa Healy INR 757 Cr