HomeCricketWorld Test ChampionshipWTC Final Qualified Teams 2023 - World Test Championship

WTC Final Qualified Teams 2023 – World Test Championship

WTC Final Qualified Teams 2023: World Test Championship or WTC is a league competition run by ICC for Test format. The 2021-23 season will be the second edition of the tournament.

ICC introduced the WTC in 2019 where the final match was played on June 2021 in England between India and New Zealand where Kane Williamson led New Zealand bagged the title.

The ICC World Test Championship will be played between the top nine ranked teams where only two teams will enter the final game.

The league games of WTC were not considered as an ICC event and the broadcasting rights were with the host nation’s cricketing board itself and not with ICC. But unlike the league stage matches, the WTC finals were considered to be an ICC event.

New Zealand won the inaugural edition of WTC
New Zealand won the inaugural edition of WTC

WTC Final Qualified Teams 2023

WTC Final Qualified Teams 2023: The top two teams of the WTC Points Table will qualify for the final game. India and Australia are the two teams that qualified for the WTC 2021-23 final match.

  • Australia qualified for the WTC 2021-23 Final match after defeating India in the 3rd Test match of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023.
  • India qualified for the WTC 2021-23 final match after the 4th Test of Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 ended in a draw. India won the series by 2-1.

WTC 2021-23 Final Match Details

Date 7–11 June 2023
Event WTC 2021-23 Final
Match Australia vs India
Venue The Oval, London

WTC 2023 Format

The tournament will be played over two years, with 69 matches over 27 series scheduled for the league stage from which the top two teams will advance to a final. Each team is scheduled to play six series, with three at home and three away.

Each series will consist of two to five Test matches. Each participant will play between 12 and 22 matches. Each match is scheduled for a duration of five days.

WTC 2023 Points System

  • The points system was changed from the previous edition. In this edition, 12 points would be available for each match regardless of how many matches there are in a series.
  • A win is worth all 12 points, a tie is worth 6 points each, a draw is worth 4 points each, and a loss is worth 0 points.
  • A team that was behind the required over rate at the end of a match would have one point deducted for each over it was behind.
  • As in the ICC WTC’s previous edition, teams are ranked in the league table based on a percentage of total points won out of total points contested.
I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read