HomeWorld CupODIAfghanistan Squad for World Cup 2023; Hashmatullah Shahidi Named as Captain

Afghanistan Squad for World Cup 2023; Hashmatullah Shahidi Named as Captain

Afghanistan has announced a strong 15-member squad for the 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup next month in India.

Afghanistan Squad for World Cup 2023

As per the Afghanistan World Cup 2023 Schedule, the team will play their first game of the tournament against Bangladesh on October 7 at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala.

Naveen-ul-Haq returns to the Afghanistan ODI squad after a two-year gap for the World Cup in India while senior all-rounder Gulbadin Naib misses out despite a good showing in the ongoing Asia Cup.

Gulbadin Naib, Riaz Hassan, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf and Mohammad Saleem Safi, who were part of the Afghanistan Asia Cup squad, were the ones to miss out on the World Cup selection. Among them, Naib and Ashraf are the travelling reserves for the World Cup, along with Farid Ahmad Malik.

Naveen-ul-Haq(Image: Twitter)

Afghanistan were knocked out early from the Asia Cup after losing their matches to Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. They did run Sri Lanka very close in a chase of 292 but missed out as head coach Jonathan Trott blamed it on the miscommunication of the NRR (net run-rate) calculations.

Afghanistan squad 

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Abdul Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq

Afghanistan finished last in the 2019 World Cup, unable to win a single game out of the nine matches they played. Their most recent success was the 2-1 series win against Bangladesh in July 2023.

ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023 Format

  • Ten teams will contest for the coveted trophy.
  • The tournament will follow a similar format to the 2019 edition in England and Wales, with a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts.
  • All 10 teams will compete against each other once in the round-robin stage.
  • A victory earns the winning side two points in every match, while a no-result will mean the sides share a point each.
  • The top four teams of the World Cup 2023 Points Table will qualify for the semi-finals.
  • The winners of the two subsequent semi-finals will contest in the final, where the champion will be crowned.

ICC World Cup Winning Captains List

The team’s captain plays a crucial role in winning a cricket match; winning an ICC trophy requires a huge role from the team’s captain.

Find the detailed list of cricket World Cup-winning captains list since 1975 below:

Year Winner Captain
2019 England Eoin Morgan
2015 Australia Michael Clarke
2011 India MS Dhoni
2007 Australia Ricky Ponting
2003 Australia Ricky Ponting
1999 Australia Steve Waugh
1996 Sri Lanka Arjuna Ranatunga
1992 Pakistan Imran Khan
1987 Australia Allan Border
1983 India Kapil Dev
1979 West Indies Clive Lloyd
1975 West Indies Clive Lloyd



More interesting topics on ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023: 

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read