HomeCricketJayant Yadav Added to ODI Squad As Replacement for Washington Sundar

Jayant Yadav Added to ODI Squad As Replacement for Washington Sundar

Jayant Yadav has been added to the India ODI squad for the South Africa tour. Jayant Yadav is included in the team as a replacement player for Washington Sundar who has been ruled out of the ODI series against South Africa after testing positive for COVID-19 during the camp in Bengaluru.

Jayant Yadav Added to ODI Squad

He was supposed to travel to Cape Town with the ODI members on Wednesday and join the rest of the squad ahead of the ODI series starting January 19th.

Now, the All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Jayant Yadav as a replacement for Sundar.

“The Committee also added fast bowler Navdeep Saini to the ODI squad as a back-up for Mohammed Siraj who is still recovering from his hamstring injury that he sustained in the 2nd Test against South Africa in Johannesburg,” BCCI statement reads.

The ODI series will be played under new skipper KL Rahul who already led the side in the 2nd Test match against South Africa in the absence of Virat Kohli. Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the Indian white-ball skipper right after Virat Kohli’s decision of stepping down from the T20I skipper role.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

Unfortunately, Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the South Africa series owing to an injury where Priyank Panchal was added to the squad as a replacement.

India currently is playing the third and last Test match of 3-match series against South Africa. Team India and South Africa are currently leveled at 1-1 and this match will act as a tie-breaker.

Meanwhile, India is slated to play 3-match ODI series with SA starting January 19. The first and the second ODI will be played at the Boland Park in Paarl on January 19 and January 21 respectively. The third and final ODI is scheduled to take place at Newlands in Cape Town on January 23.

India’s Updated ODI squad

KL Rahul (Captain), Jasprit Bumrah (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj, Jayant Yadav, Navdeep Saini

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read