HomeCricketPSLPSL Winners List With Runner-up and Prize Amount Details

PSL Winners List With Runner-up and Prize Amount Details

PSL Winners List: PSL was founded on 9 September 2015 with five teams by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

After several years of planning and two previous failed attempts, the league officially began on 4 February 2016 in the United Arab Emirates.

Daughter of former Pakistani President, Mr Asif Zardari, Bakhtawar Bhutto-Zardari, alongside Sheikh Nahyan bin Mubarak Al Nahyan, inaugurated the opening ceremony.

PSL Winners List

PSL Winners List: With two trophies, Islamabad United and Lahore Qalandars are currently the most successful teams in the PSL. They first won the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2016, followed by a second title in 2018.

Lahore Qalandars becomes the first team to successfully defend their HBLPSL title. Islamabad United’s both titles came under the captaincy of one of the greatest cricketers to have emerged from Pakistan – Misbah Ul Haq.

Following are the details of the PSL Winners List along with runner-up and final venue details:

Year Winner Runner Up Final Venue
2024 Islamabad United Multan Sultans National Stadium, Karachi
2023 Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
2022 Lahore Qalandars Multan Sultans Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
2021 Multan Sultans Peshawar Zalmi Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi
2020 Karachi Kings Lahore Qalandars National Stadium, Karachi
2019 Quetta Gladiators Peshawar Zalmi National Stadium, Karachi
2018 Islamabad United Peshawar Zalmi National Stadium, Karachi
2017 Peshawar Zalmi Quetta Gladiators Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
2016 Islamabad United Quetta Gladiators Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai

PSL Prize Amount

With the league growing in terms of stature and quality with each successive season, there has been an increment in the total prize money amount as well resultantly.

Islamabad United, who won the PSL 2024 title, has received PKR 140,000,000 while runner-up Multan Sultans have received PKR 56,000,000.

Following are the details of the PSL 2024 Award Winners with Prize Amount details:

Award Winner Prize amount
Winners Islamabad United PKR 140,000,000
Runners-up Multan Sultans PKR 56,000,000
Best Batter Usman Khan PKR 3,500,000
Best Bowler Usama Mir PKR 3,500,000
Best Wicketkeeper Azam Khan PKR 3,500,000
Best Fielder Irfan Khan Niazi PKR 3,500,000
Best Allrounder Saim Ayub PKR 3,500,000
Fazal Mahmood Cap for Most Wickets Usama Mir PKR 3,500,000
Hanif Mohammad Cap for Most Runs Babar Azam PKR 3,500,000
Spirit of Cricket Award Peshawar Zalmi PKR 3,500,000
Emerging Player of the tournament Irfan Khan Niazi PKR 3,500,000
Player of the Tournament Shadab Khan PKR 3,500,000
Best Umpire of the Tournament Asif Yaqoob PKR 3,500,000

PSL Sponsors

The PSL’s initial title sponsorship was awarded to HBL Pakistan for 3 years in December 2015. Sponsorship deals associated with the league including the title sponsorship, are estimated to be worth more than $6 million.

HBL later renewed their sponsorship for three more years. In 2021, PCB announced that HBL retained the title sponsorship of the PSL for 4 more years till 2025.

Title sponsor Period
Sponsorship amount (per year)
PKR 54.4 Crore (US$5.2 Million)
PKR 214.8 Crore (US$14.3 Million)
PKR 391.7 Crore (US$22.2 Million)

PSL Logo

The PSL’s official logo was launched on 20 September 2015 in a ceremony in Lahore and was revealed by 3Di.

PSL Logo
PSL Logo

PSL Format

The PSL is played in a double round-robin format. Every team plays each other twice and the top four advance to the Playoffs.

In the group stage, two points are awarded for a win, one for a no-result and none for a loss. In the event of tied scores after both teams have faced their quota of overs, a super over is used to determine the match-winner.

In the group stage teams are ranked on the following criteria:

  • The higher number of points
  • If equal, better run rate
  • If equal, the highest number of wins
  • If equal, fewest losses
  • If still equal, the results of the head-to-head meeting

In any playoff match in which there is no result, a super over is used to determine the winner.

If the super over is not possible or the result of the over is a tie, the team which finished in the highest league position at the end of the regular season is deemed the winner of the match.

PSL Interesting Facts

Hamaray Heroes

The HBL PSL Hamaray Heroes campaign was introduced in the HBL PSL 2020 and received an overwhelming response as the initiative rewarded prominent Pakistanis like squash player Farhan Mehboob, founder of ACF Animal Rescue Ayesha Chundrigar, mountaineer Ali Sadpara and professional eSports player Arslan Ash.

A total of 32 HBL PSL Hamaray Heroes Awards were handed out during the HBL PSL 2020. The HBL PSL 2021, like the previous year, continued recognizing Pakistanis for their achievements till the PCB postponed the remainder of its premier T20 events aimed at the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Acclaimed Pakistanis rewarded during HBL PSL 2021 under the banner of HBL PSL Hamaray Heroes were footballer Kaleemullah Khan, security researcher Rafay Baloch, karate player Kulsoom Hazara, and mountaineer Mirza Ali Baig among others.

Cancer Awareness

Since 2019, the league has observed a day for breast cancer awareness with a pink ribbon theme and a day for childhood cancer awareness with a golden ribbon theme.

Also read: WPL 2024 Award Winners, Prize Amount – Complete List

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read