HomeCricketNewsZC announces Zimbabwe's squad for Sri Lanka tour 2024

ZC announces Zimbabwe’s squad for Sri Lanka tour 2024

Zimbabwe Cricket has announced their ODI and T20I squad for the upcoming Sri Lanka tour 2024.

Zimbabwe’s squad for Sri Lanka tour 2024

Craig Ervine has been named the captain of the ODI squad for the upcoming Zimbabwe’s Sri Lanka tour 2024. He missed the home series against Ireland due to a groin niggle. The all-rounder Sean Williams sustained an injury he sustained during a second T20I match in a home tour against Ireland.

Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka are scheduled to play 3 ODIs and 3 T20Is against Sri Lanka starting on January 06. On this occasion, Sean Williams has been ruled out of the upcoming Sri Lanka tour due to injury.

Uncapped Offspinner Tapiwa Mufudza earned up to the ODI squad after an impressive performance in the domestic season. He picked up 18 wickets and became the most wicket-taker in the Pro50 Championship 2023.

Fast bowling allrounder Faraz Akram who did not play in the Ireland ODI series, will be expected to make his debut in the format.

Other players like Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Milton Shumba, and Tony Munyonga who played part in the Ireland series, keep their places for Sri Lanka ODIs.

Wessly Madhevere was not placed in the squad after he was suspended by ZC for breaching the anti-doping rules.

Zimbabwe did not have a great cricketing year in 2023 after failing to qualify for two World Cup events. They failed to enter the ODI World Cup 2023 and failed to qualify for the upcoming T20 World Cup in 2024.

After the home series against Ireland, Walter Chawaguta was named as the interim head coach for Zimbabwe’s tour of Sri Lanka.

Zimbabwe ODI squad for Sri Lanka tour 

Craig Ervine (c), Faraz Akram, Ryan Burl, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Tapiwa Mufudza, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Sikandar Raza, Shumba Milton

Zimbabwe T20I squad for Sri Lanka tour 

Sikandar Raza (c), Brian Bennett, Ryan Burl, Craig Ervine, Joylord Gumbie, Luke Jongwe, Tinashe Kamunhukamwe, Clive Madande, Wellington Masakadza, Carl Mumba, Tony Munyonga, Blessing Muzarabani, Ainsley Ndlovu, Richard Ngarava, Milton Shumba

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read