HomeCricketNewsYuzvendra Chahal Picks 200th IPL wicket against Mumbai

Yuzvendra Chahal Picks 200th IPL wicket against Mumbai

Rajasthan Royals spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has bagged his 200th wicket in the IPL tournament and becomes the first player to achieve the feat.

During the IPL 2024 match against Mumbai Indians on April 22, he bagged the wicket of Mohammad Nabi Where MI batters struggled with losing three wickets by the end of powerplay.

Yuzvendra Chahal made his IPL debut in 2013 and was the leading wicket-taker in the tournament bagging 199 wickets in 152 with an economy of 7.7.

Currently, Chahal shares the top position for most wickets with Jasprit Bumrah in the ongoing season with 13 wickets.

During the IPL 2023 season, he bagged 21 wickets in fourteen with an economy of 8.18 and a best return of 4/17.

Yuzvendra Chahal’s Wicket Milestone in IPL

  • 1st Wicket- Murali Vijay (Delhi Daredevils) in 2014.
  • 50th wicket- Kyle Abbott (Kings Xl Punjab) in 2016
  • 100th wicket- Yusuf Pathan (Sunrisers Hyderabad) in 2019
  • 150th wicket- Dushmantha Chameera (Lucknow Super Giants) in 2022
  • 200th wicket- Mohammad Nabi (Mumbai Indians) in 2024

Rajasthan Royal and Mumbai Indians have previously played a match in the ongoing season on April 01 where Rajasthan Royals won the match by 6 wickets. Mumbai Scored 125 runs in the match while Rajasthan chased the score in 16 overs.

Coming to the match, Mumbai Indians won the toss and opted to bat where MI opener Rohit Sharma was sent back to the dugout by Trent Boult in the first over of the match.

Sandeep Sharma bagged wickets of Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav for 0 and 10 runs. MI scored only 45 runs losing three wickets by the end of power play.

With MI struggling to score runs, Mohammad Nabi scored 23 runs in 17 deliveries helping the side to stabilize the score before being dismissed by Chahal.

They scored only 54 runs losing four wickets in the game. Tilak Varma and Nehal Wadhera joined hands to score 50+ partnership runs. Mumbai Indians scored 131/4  by the end of 15 overs at Jaipur.

Tilak Varma went on to score 65 runs in 45 deliveries before being dismissed by Sandeep Sharma. On the other hand, Nehal Wadhera was dismissed by Trent Boult for 49 runs.

With the dismissal of Hardik Pandya for 10 runs, Sandeep Sharma went on to bag the wickets of Tim David and Gerald Coetzee picking a five-wicket haul with an economy of 4.50. Finally, Mumbai Indians scored 179 runs losing 9 wickets by the end of 20 overs.

With the target of 180 runs, Rajasthan Royals openers Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler scored a joined partnership to score 61 runs by the end of the powerplay.

The rain interrupted the match and resumed the match where Jos Buttler scored 35 runs against 25 deliveries before being dismissed by Piyush Chawla.

Sanju Samson joined a partnership with Yashasvi Jaiswal to score 100+ runs. Yashasvi Jaiswal smashed 100 runs on 59 deliveries. Rajasthan Royals scored 183 and won the match by 9 wickets.

I'm Johi, a dedicated cricket news writer! With a passion for the game and a keen eye for detail, I would always love to bring you the latest updates, insights, and analysis from the world of cricket & Football with a positive entertainment.

Must Read