HomeCricketNewsU19 WC 2022 Winning Captain Yash Dhull Added in Delhi Ranji Trophy...

U19 WC 2022 Winning Captain Yash Dhull Added in Delhi Ranji Trophy Squad

Yash Dhull added in Delhi Ranji Trophy Squad: The ICC U19 World Cup 2022 winning captain Yash Dhull was named in the Delhi squad for Ranji Trophy 2022. BCCI has informed all the state associations that the event will kickstart from February 17, 2022.

Yash Dhull added in Delhi Ranji Trophy Squad

Ahead of the tournament, the players will have to report to their respective venues on February 10 and undergo a mandatory quarantine till February 14.

The teams will train on February 15 and 16 before the first game begins. After three rounds of league matches, the pre-quarterfinal matches will be held between March 12 and 16. All pre-quarterfinals will be four-day matches instead of a five-day affair.

The Delhi team will leave for Guwahati on Thursday and Dhull is all set to join the squad for the tournament.

After leading the team to victory in the Caribbean last week, he along with his teammates landed in India on Tuesday morning and they went to Ahmedabad on Wednesday to witness the second ODI against West Indies.

Left-arm pacer Pradeep Sangwan will captain the Delhi side while Nitish Rana and Navdeep Saini are the other noticeable names.

Ahead of these, earlier a report states that Indian speedster Ishant Sharma skips the Ranji Trophy 2022 while Wriddhiman Saha has already withdrawn from the tournament.

Nitish Rana
Nitish Rana

Ranji Trophy 2022 Guidelines

According to the guidelines, each squad can have a “maximum 30 players comprising a minimum of 20 players.”

The number of support staff will be capped at a total of 10. The guidelines say that 20 players “will be eligible for match fees (playing XI will be eligible for 100 percent while the remaining nine will be entitled for 50 percent). However, teams are permitted to carry two extra players as COVID reserves.”

The report also states, “In case, where a Team India cricketer is deputed by the BCCI to participate in domestic cricket, he or she will be eligible for match fee over and above the 20 players based on his Playing XI and non-Playing XI status in the matches.”

After a gap of two years, the Board will host the tournament in two phases – before and after the IPL – across nine venues.

  • First leg (Pre- IPL 2022): February 10, 2022, to March 15, 2022 (34 days, 57 matches)
  • Second leg (Post- IPL 2022): May 30, 2022, to June 26, 2022 (28 days, 7 matches)

Delhi Ranji Trophy Squad

Pradeep Sangwan, Nitish Rana, Dhruv Shorey, Priyansh Arya, Yash Dhull, Khsitij Sharma, Jonty Sidhu, Himmat Singh, Lalit Yadav, Anuj Rawat Wk, Lakshay Thareja wk, Navdeep Saini, Simarjit Singh, Mayank Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Vikas Mishra, Shivang Vashist, Shivam Sharma.

Covid-19 reserves: Dev Lakra, Hrithik Shokeen.

Times of Sports
Times of Sports
A Leading Sports News Channel For All The Exclusive Sports Updates Across Globe.

Must Read