HomeCricketNewsWest Indies Squad for India ODIs; Hetmyer, Oshane Thomas recalled

West Indies Squad for India ODIs; Hetmyer, Oshane Thomas recalled

West Indies Squad for India ODIs: Cricket West Indies has named 15-member squad for the India ODIs. Following the 2 games Test series, both India and West Indies will play 3 ODIs and 5 T20Is till August 13.

West Indies Squad for India ODIs

As of WI vs IND 2023 schedule, the first ODI game will be played on July 27 in Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados. The 2nd and 3rd ODI will be played on July 29 and August 1 at Kensington Oval and Brian Lara Stadium respectively.

Cricket West Indies has recalled hard-hitting batter Shimron Hetmyer and fast bowler Oshane Thomas to their ODI squad. Fast bowler Jayden Seales and legspinner Yannick Cariah have also been included in the squad following their rehabilitation from surgeries while left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie has also returned post his injury.

Oshane Thomas
Oshane Thomas(Image: CWI)

Injured all-rounder Keemo Paul missed out while former captains Nicholas Pooran and Jason Holder were unavailable for selection.

Hetmyer and Thomas have been out of West Indies’ ODI setup for a while, both having last featured in the format almost two years ago. “We welcome Oshane and Shimron back into the group. Both have played at the international level before, with some success, and we believe they will fit well into the set-up,” lead selector Desmond Haynes said.

“Oshane brings pace and is a potential wicket-taker with the new ball. Shimron’s style of batting will offer a lot, especially in the middle stage of the innings and he is also a potential ‘finisher’.”


Shai Hope (Captain), Rovman Powell (Vice Captain), Alick Athanaze, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Dominic Drakes, Shimron Hetmyer, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas

Following India’s victory in the 1st Test, West Indies were in need of winning the 2nd Test to level the 2-match Test series. But unfortunately, rain interrupted the final day of the 2nd Test and forced the officials to declare the match as draw.

India Squad 

Rohit Sharma (Capt), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Sanju Samson (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Shardul Thakur, R Jadeja, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Mukesh Kumar.

I'm a passionate sports enthusiast and dedicated writer behind this dynamic sports news website - Times Of Sports. I would always brings a unique blend of insight, analysis, and enthusiasm to my contents.

Must Read