Top 20 Fastest Centuries in One Day International(ODI) Cricket Format

Top 20 fastest ODI centuries
Fastest ODI centuries

Who has the record for the fastest century in ODI?

Ab de Villiers holds the top position in the list of fastest ODI centuries in Men’s Cricket. The South African player scored his century in just 31 balls against West Indies in 2015.

The record of the fastest century before 2000 was held by Shahid Afridi who scored a century in just 37 balls in 1996.

Sachin Tendulkar is considered as the century king in international cricket. He has scored 100 centuries in international cricket. Ricky Ponting is in number two position in terms of the highest number of centuries.

Ponting has scored 41 test centuries and 30 in the ODI centuries. Indian veteran cricketer Kohli is in the third position with 70 International centuries.

Top 20 Fastest ODI Centuries

The leading batsman Ab de Villiers finished the match at 149 off just 44 balls and set another record of most sixes in an innings(16) by an individual player in ODI formats.

Virat Kohli has scored his fastest century in just 52 balls against Australia in 2013. This is the fastest century by any Indian cricketer in ODIs.

S. NoPlayer NameMatch detailsRunsBalls6s4sVenueDate
1AB de VilliersSouth Africa vs West Indies14931169Johannesburg18/01/2015
2Cory James AndersonNew Zealand vs West Indies131*36146Queenstown01/01/2014
3Shahid AfridiPakistan v Sri Lanka10237116Nairobi04/10/1996
4Mark BoucherSouth Africa v Zimbabwe147*44108Potchefstroom20/09/2006
5Brian LaraWest Indies v Bangladesh11745418Dhaka09/10/1999
6Shahid AfridiPakistan vs India10245910Kanpur15/04/2005
7Jesse RyderNew Zealand v West Indies10446512Queenstown01/01/2014
8Jos ButlerEngland v Pakistan116*46810Dubai20/11/2015
9Sanath JayasuriyaSri Lanka v Pakistan134481111Singapore02/04/1996
10Kevin O’BrienIreland v England11350613Bangalore02/03/2011
11Glenn MaxwellAustralia v Sri Lanka10251410Sydney08/03/2015
12Virat KohliIndia v Australia100*5278Jaipur16/10/2013
13AB de VilliersSouth Africa v West Indies162*52817Sydney27/02/2015
14Shahid AfridiPakistan v Bangladesh12453417Dambulla21/06/2010
15Moeen AliEngland v West Indies1025387Bristol24/09/2017
16Sanath JayasuriyaSri Lanka v Bangladesh13055616Karachi30/06/2008
17James FaulknerAustralia v India11657611Bangalore02/11/2013
18AB de VilliersSouth Africa v India11957113Mumbai25/10/2015
19AB de VilliersSouth Africa v India102*58311Ahmedabad27/02/2010
20Virender SehwagIndia v New Zealand125*60614Hamilton11/03/2009


Also read: Top 20 Highest Successful Run Chase in ODI Cricket Format